User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Replacing a turbo on CDTI 150

  1. #1
    Regular Member Dave78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Replacing a turbo on CDTI 150

    Hi.
    As my title suggests, I want some info I replacing my turbo on my 1.9 CDTI (150). I will receive my new (reconditioned) turbo in a day or so but am wanting to know what sort of job it is. My main questions are:
    1. Do I need to remove the rads water and AC)?
    2. Do I need to drain the water first (obviously if I don't need to remove the rad)
    3. Do I do it all from he top, bottom or both (I.e will I need it on ramps)
    4. Do I need to isolate any circuit or will removing the battery suffice.
    5. Lastly what sort of job is it going to be?

    I will obviously be changing the oil and pouring oil into the oil hole of the new turbo.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Solihull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : safira

    Trim : Se

    Engine : 120

    Year : 2006

    Default

    Just had mine replaced and the garage said it was the only way removing the rads!

  3. #3
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Make sure you get new gaskets from VX, I think they will set you back about £120.
    Make sure that you get the filter bolt thingy as well and do not reuse the old one.
    We fitted new studs and nuts as well to make sure all was ok (which was included in the above price)
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Dave78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for that. So I'd better head on down to the local stealer to allow them to shaft me right royalty. And not only that I will also have to get the AC regassed and more coolant which I only renewed 2 months ago. Really love my car at the moment.

  5. #5
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Or you could just get your turbo hybrided and therefore it makes it more worthwhile when you refit it!
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 1.9CDTi(120)SRi


    Engine : 1.9DT

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 100k

    Default

    Why do you need a gasket at £120? Cant you just use a bit of exhaust paste on it?

  7. #7
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Casey View Post
    Why do you need a gasket at £120? Cant you just use a bit of exhaust paste on it?
    Its not just for one gasket is for several items and no you cannot just use exhaust paste!
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Dave78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    So I have The old turbo off. Quite alot of oil in the air in & out pipe and I think I found the reason for failure. That is the oil feed pipe on The top of the turbo was blocked with crap, cleared all that, new bolt etc so hopefully the new one will not screw up.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    N Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Are there any things that are worth attending to when youve went to the both of stripping everything back to get to the turbo.

    My AC stopped working a couple of years ago. I presume the radiator developed a leak...worth getting a breaker AC radiator while I have to chance?

    Anything else?

  10. #10
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    I for one would not be getting a air con rad from a breakers. The only problem you have as the air con has not been working for a while is that the air con pump could have seized due to lack of use. If the aircon rad shows signs of damage/leaks then yes replace it but be prepared for additional costs to get the aircon working such as pump and condenser thingy.
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Z20NET oil issue after replacing turbo! :@
    By signumkid in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th December 2011, 16:06
  2. Replacing CDTI injectors
    By phil147 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th June 2011, 20:09
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th February 2010, 20:30

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •