User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Changing speedo with one from ebay

  1. #1
    Regular Member Jonsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Walkden, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Changing speedo with one from ebay

    If I get a set of clocks from the same year as mine 2003 what needs doing to them to work in mine.

    Regards

    Dave

  2. #2
    Regular Member benny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dudley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    They will work straight out the box with no programming but you really need them to be divorced from the old car and programmed to yours if you have another control unit fail with a none programmed set of clocks your car will be useless .... So yes they will work but ideally need to be fitted correctly ...

  3. #3
    Regular Member Jonsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Walkden, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Or could the lcd screen be changed over as thats what has stopped working.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Ben_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Audiville, WM
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm sure Ian highlander tried doing this and said that it was a bit of a fiddle to do to change screens over doesn't mean it can't be done tho.
    I've got some old clocks from a 2.2 preface if any good to you bud. Screen works fine 71k mileage.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Ben_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Audiville, WM
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm sure Ian highlander tried doing this and said that it was a bit of a fiddle to do to change screens over doesn't mean it can't be done tho.
    I've got some old clocks from a 2.2 preface if any good to you bud. Screen works fine 71k mileage.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Jonsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Walkden, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Petrol or diesel ben

  7. #7
    Regular Member Ben_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Audiville, WM
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Petrol mate 8000rpm 170mph Sxi

  8. #8
    Regular Member Jonsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Walkden, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No good need diesel ones.

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    57 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    I've just fitted brand new ones from the dealers (this morning funnily enough) after faffing about with several different things with two people on here sending me old donor clocks but not having any joy with them. The LCD's can't be swapped over without specialist equipment and even then it's a seriously risky job, the ribbon cables are heat bonded and are conductive plastic, not metal or soldered.

    I think it was Paul Sessions that found a company that could transfer the LCD from a donor set to his for him, but I don't know the details and might be wrong, but could be worth asking him.

    I know plenty of people say they have fitted used clocks, but when the dealers fitted mine this morning, they had to enter the chassis number of the car into the clocks during the initial programming and when I asked, he said "it's done to stop people being able to swap them over" which I hadn't heard of before, but I was watching him do it, so he wasn't making that part up. They also have a code index for the engine and details of any options fitted to the car (TPMS, Parking sensors etc) programmed into them.

    Knowing what I know now, I don't think I'd want to fit a second hand set anymore.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Changing Speedo
    By Vectra_Wilky in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th April 2013, 16:13
  2. speedo
    By Swedge in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th October 2012, 14:57
  3. speedo
    By paul.sessions in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 31st July 2009, 23:52
  4. Speedo
    By stuk2000 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th February 2009, 21:20
  5. no speedo
    By frazandsaima in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th January 2009, 23:53

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •