User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: GID Screen

  1. #1
    Regular Member cossie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    MANCHESTER
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default GID Screen

    Heres one for you all. My screen has got some damage on it. It looks a little like part if the screen has lost some of its laquer (can't think of another way to describe it) and it is letting some amber light through from the display. (The wife is out in the car at the moment so will put a pic up later.)

    I want to change the screen - I can still read it but its more of an annoyance than anything. I have read that they are paired to the headunit and require divorcing from the unit before being used on an other.

    I wonder if the unit can be disassembled, and the screen part that is pixelated on mine changed for part of a salvage unit, keeping all the internals intact? I'm sure I have seen some people changing the light colour of their display, so it clearly comes apart, I just need to see if that screen part is seperable from the gubbins! Any pics of it disassembled would be great.

    Sorry if I haven't made myself clear, I am describing it as best I can!

  2. #2
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Yes this can be done

    I did this to mine a few years ago, when mine started to lose pixels.

    Just get a display of a similar style to yours.

    I used an Astra-H GID to fix my Vectra-C GID... worked a treat.

    No need to program or anything.

    The casing simply unclips, and the only tricky bit is unclipping and refitting the LCD component ribbon connections.

  3. #3
    Regular Member cossie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    MANCHESTER
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsey View Post
    Yes this can be done

    I did this to mine a few years ago, when mine started to lose pixels.

    Just get a display of a similar style to yours.

    I used an Astra-H GID to fix my Vectra-C GID... worked a treat.

    No need to program or anything.

    The casing simply unclips, and the only tricky bit is unclipping and refitting the LCD component ribbon connections.

    Yep - did this today and was simple and straight forward. Bought a paired CCR600 off ste w with perfect screen. Did the swap (as ste w's head unit was not in as good nick as mine which I knew) and it now works perfect. So as well as my perfect working order unit (in my motor!) I now also have a slightly tatty ccr600 and paired screen with a little pixelation that is prob gonna go on ebay. I'm sure it will help someone out??!

    You are right - the swap only needed the screen ribbons disconnecting and the two earths re soldering to the chassis. I would recommend this to anyone especially as it saves a load of trouble getting the screens paired etc.

  4. #4
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cossie View Post
    You are right - the swap only needed the screen ribbons disconnecting and the two earths re soldering to the chassis. I would recommend this to anyone especially as it saves a load of trouble getting the screens paired etc.
    Depends upon the Display.
    Full CAN displays have a little white connector, for the white link wires (that you refer to as earths) and two ribbons, so even easier.

    I swapped a knackered DD screen for a perfect BJ screen..
    I had to swap only the LCD panel, as the BJ 9-high-brightness LED panel would not fit into my DD casing (???). fitted with 39 standard-brightness LED panel.

    Shame really as the 9-LED panel would be much easier to colour-change

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: CID Screen. (Colour Screen)
    By jodiexii in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 6th May 2013, 19:22
  2. Half screen to full screen,
    By SlowCoach in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th May 2012, 01:13
  3. what screen do i have
    By J P S in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 21st April 2012, 20:33
  4. new screen now screen wiper problem
    By kenno31 in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th February 2012, 12:34

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c screen pixelated

display gid astra h pixel problem

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •