User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Mileage correction on second hand clocks - Can it be done?

  1. #1
    Admin & Server Techy Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Mileage correction on second hand clocks - Can it be done?

    Having now done my LED conversion, the duff LCD in my rev counter is really bugging me as it lets the whole look down now and is a lot more noticable with the screen now blue when it activates.

    So we're going to get replacement clocks. My local dealer has given me a quote (with some serious discount) but it's still over three times the price second hand ones go for on ebay.

    I've heard varying answers to whether or not the mileage can be corrected on second hand clocks or not with some people saying it can be done and some saying it cant. I don't want to have clocks showing the wrong mileage (I'm way to OCD for that), so they would have to be corrected. Can anyone confirm 100% one way or the other whether this can be done, if I bought a set of second hand clocks, can Tech2 reset the mileage to the same as my current ones?

    Ta
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  2. #2
    Regular Member BYGino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm about 99.9% certain it can.

  3. #3
    Regular Member hoochydady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    glasgow
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    my vectra was clocked so it can be done but i dont know if you can do it without re flashing the dash eprom chip

  4. #4
    Admin & Server Techy Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoochydady View Post
    my vectra was clocked so it can be done but i dont know if you can do it without re flashing the dash eprom chip
    That's what's worrying me. Thanks, I'll see if anyone else can confirm this before deciding what to do.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  5. #5
    Regular Member blacksapphire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    When i worked in a Vx dealership my understanding was they had 1 shot to get the correct mileage entered when NEW clocks were fitted---and once a mileage was entered it cannot then be changed by Tech2.

    Also are the dash clocks not 'married' to vehicles like the Cd70 units are--so only work in that vehicle unless 'divorced' first?

    Cheers Andy

  6. #6
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Some have said you can change it via opcom but when i looked into it i found a comany on the net who was going to do it for £90 iirc

    New clocks under a couple of hundred miles can be corrected by tech2 though

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    fife
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Mate
    i have a elite that i'm currentlly breaking so i'll play about with it with the opcom i have and let you know one way or other.

  8. #8
    Full Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It can be done... but have to be straghit to the eprom from what i know.. (when its used)

  9. #9
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    144 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    144 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ***** would be able to do it or CristianTM for sure
    Last edited by plasma; 5th March 2012 at 21:27.
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  10. #10
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i might have a play at this , got 2 spare sets of clocks so may try taking the eeprom from one and putting it on the other

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Mileage Correction
    By Barlow in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd June 2012, 18:31
  2. Mileage correction
    By Nez in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st April 2012, 15:54
  3. Mileage Correction
    By MattHD in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 11th August 2011, 16:47
  4. Mileage Correction using Op-Com?
    By Vaux-Man-G in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th July 2011, 11:03
  5. mileage correction
    By graememk in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th July 2009, 08:52

Visitors found this page by searching for:

opcom vectra c mileage correction www.vectra-c.com

opcom vectra c mileage correction

second hand clocks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •