User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Cruise control not activating properly

  1. #1
    Events Manager & Section Mod jon1.9cdti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ooh la la le viva
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Cruise control not activating properly

    Hi all as per the title the cruise control on my 2006 1.9cdti 150 is not activating properly.
    if you push the top button to set speed etc nothing happens apart from now and again the light will flash up.
    if you push the lower button the cruise olight will illuminate for a split second but if you tap the button hard with your finger it will engage, however if you hit a bump or even breathe on stalk it cuts out.

    i have tried lifting the clutch pedal and brake with my foot but is no different ! . anybody think it may be the stalk rather than anything else?
    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    slough
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    mine did exactly the same until i re-solderd the throttle body pcb..... all good now. must admit it was the last thing i tried after clutch and brake switches, clutch spring, cruse control switch. throttle pedal.

  3. #3
    Events Manager & Section Mod jon1.9cdti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ooh la la le viva
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the prompt reply, i have allways been a petrol man until this one , been browsing the site today for info on a couple of other issues which i have sorted and come acroos a few people saying about resoldering throttle body,
    would you mind telling me exactly what you mean?

  4. #4
    Full Member chrisvectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Are you VXR Enough
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    nine times out of ten fella its the contacts on the stalk there is a how 2 on the site that shows you how to remove the stalk and clean the contacts
    VXR IS FOR LIFE NOT JUST FOR THRILLS !



  5. #5
    Events Manager & Section Mod jon1.9cdti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ooh la la le viva
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks i will have a look for it, i have found the info on resoldering the pcb on throttle body so i will check/clean that at the weekend when i check and clean egr

  6. #6
    Regular Member alcutler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    East Midlands
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jon1.8sri View Post
    Thanks i will have a look for it, i have found the info on resoldering the pcb on throttle body so i will check/clean that at the weekend when i check and clean egr
    Hi, I appreciate this sounds a bit basic - I was having to press mine 3/4 times before it would operate - I sat in it one day while waiting for the kids to come out of school and kept pressing and releasing the CC rocker switch and it works every time since. I can only assume there was some dirt / corrosion on the contacts in the switch because of the infrequent use and by repeatedly switching it cleaned the contact.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisvectra View Post
    nine times out of ten fella its the contacts on the stalk there is a how 2 on the site that shows you how to remove the stalk and clean the contacts
    +1

    Use electrical switch cleaner.

    Gerry

  8. #8
    Regular Member rozzer2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    having similar problems, its probably the stalk, u will need to dismantal the coverings around the unit. once u have done this you can see where the stalk goes into the unit. from here u can see a grove/ hole on the bottom of the stalk, use a paper clip or something similar to go into the hole which has too be thick enough which presses a clip down which releases the stalk, please note what ever you use make sure its long enough, goes in about a inch or two. the stalk should come out very freely if you have done it right. you will see on the back of it metal contact plates 4 of them, using some imary paper get it back to a shine but dont wear it down too much. the contacts inside the unit are a little trickyer, you can try the stalk at this stage might be ok but u wil have to very gently use a bit of imary paper to clean the contacts inside you will have to be very pacient it is slow be very careful when you do this bit, give that a go see how you get on.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Here
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Remove the stalk and give the contacts a clean. Mine was doing the same as yours and all I did was clean the contacts and it now works perfectly.

  10. #10
    Regular Member the-wizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tamworth - ''The Capital of Mercia''
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hippo View Post
    mine did exactly the same until i re-solderd the throttle body pcb..... all good now. must admit it was the last thing i tried after clutch and brake switches, clutch spring, cruse control switch. throttle pedal.
    tried everything then this , all fine now with only the very odd blip.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Climate control not working properly
    By vectragsi3.2 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th February 2012, 13:28
  2. Cruise control
    By nokiaman1978 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 18th June 2011, 12:27
  3. De-activating/Re-activating CDC Stereo
    By L11Marc in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th May 2010, 17:20
  4. manual control or cruise control.
    By johnm in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 6th February 2008, 14:20
  5. Climate control not working properly
    By Aussie in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 13th November 2007, 22:49

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •