User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Can I change amber display to colour one?

  1. #1
    Regular Member chickenwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Can I change amber display to colour one?

    I have an '03 GSI and have just bought new LED's to replace all interior amber colour with white.

    I have also fitted a Pioneer AVH-3300BT double din headunit instead of CD 2006 unit.

    Question is this, before I change the LED's for the amber display, can I change the display for a colour one, or are they for sat nav only?

  2. #2
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Yes u can change it to a CID mate tue one u have is a gid graphic info display and a CID is a colour info display
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  3. #3
    Regular Member chickenwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulvectrac View Post
    Yes u can change it to a CID mate tue one u have is a gid graphic info display and a CID is a colour info display

    Cheers for response.

    So, if I find one, it won't need configuring? Bearing in mind I don't have the CD 2006 installed anymore. Will it just plug in and display evrything as before, just in colour?

  4. #4
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Yes it will mate
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    This is London baby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Dodge Journey

    Trim : SXT

    Engine : 2.0Tdi (VW Engine)

    Year : 2010

    Mileage : 53000

    Default

    What i did with mine (i only have date time on mine) is take apart and there is a orange piece of plastic, all i did is get some red plastic film and wedge it between the screen and the orange plastic and it turned my display red to match my headunit leds.

  6. #6
    Regular Member chickenwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers guys.

    What would I search for to locate one? Or does anyone know where I'd find one?

  7. #7
    Regular Member chickenwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Anyone got any ideas how to find a colour display on its own?

  8. #8
    Regular Member sinless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Edgware
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Exclusive

    Engine : Y20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 96500

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chickenwing View Post
    Anyone got any ideas how to find a colour display on its own?
    i am looking for one mate, give me a shout if ya find anything !!!
    found smth on ebay, but they are just selling them with the stereo as well !!!! let me know !!!

  9. #9
    Full Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Why not change your display ilumination colour int he mean time... I changed from a TID (Two line display) to a GID (full on board computer for half can bus vectra's and had the ilimination colour changed to match my dash....




  10. #10
    Regular Member sinless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Edgware
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Exclusive

    Engine : Y20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 96500

    Default

    well, i have a GID and i will sell it (swap) with someone who can help me get CID. I don`t have time now for the LED conversion...maybe later on...who knows !!! but I really wanted a CID !!!! it should be plug and ply or do i need something else ?

    BTW, your interior looks amazing !!!!!
    Last edited by sinless; 27th March 2012 at 12:43. Reason: old man....keep forgeting !!!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CID colour display
    By kman247 in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st August 2010, 07:36
  2. cd30 and colour display
    By andy.l in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st April 2010, 20:00
  3. Colour Display
    By collos in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th May 2008, 22:44
  4. how to change display background colour mode on ncdc2013
    By gsiest in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th May 2008, 17:43

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •