User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Relay question

  1. #1
    Regular Member JagRigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Norfolk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 1.8 VVT

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : lots !

    Default Relay question

    Normally a relay uses a low amp signal to switch and supply a higher amp to the service.

    Can you use a higher amp signal to switch and supply a lower amp to the service ?

  2. #2
    Regular Member lee gsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hampshire (Near Havant) . .Drives: Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi

    Year : 2005

    Default

    What is it your trying to do?

  3. #3
    Regular Member opel_estate's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Enjoy

    Engine : Z22YH

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 35000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JagRigger View Post
    Normally a relay uses a low amp signal to switch and supply a higher amp to the service.

    Can you use a higher amp signal to switch and supply a lower amp to the service ?
    You can think of a relay as a 12V powered switch. it can switch high amps as well as low amps. They usually require around 500 mA to operate, you dont break it by feeding "high amp" signals, as they only draw as much power as they need.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can you name that Relay?
    By Journeyman in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 22nd December 2016, 17:54
  2. Indicator Relay question?
    By Leemarksmith in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th September 2012, 16:14
  3. A little help with the R7 relay
    By mofozo in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th September 2011, 20:03
  4. Relay Question
    By mambo in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th April 2010, 12:43
  5. Which relay is which?
    By JamesG in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd December 2007, 19:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •