User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: factory headunit question....

  1. #1
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default factory headunit question....

    Hi all,

    I've just purchased a Vectra 3.0 V6 SRi CDTi and my question relates to the factory headunit that is installed...the CDR 2005 model.

    Firstly, is there some sort of adaptor kit on the market whereby i could fit an aftermarket headunit and still keep the steering wheel controls and the computer display functional?

    Secondly, if the above is not possible does the CDR 2005 have aux inputs at the back of the unit, in the manual it refers to external sound sources but these are descirbed as the sat nav or a mobile phone kit, neither of which i have, so can i use these inputs for my mp3 player??

    The front of the unit has no "AUX" button so i'm not sure how i would activate the auxiliary input even if there is one.

    Any advice would be much appreciateed.

    hmha0

  2. #2
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    also, can somebody please advise the correct size key that is required to remove the screws on the front of the above mentioned headunit. Is it just a matter of sticking in some prongs into the holes and wedging the unit out or will i break something by doing so?

  3. #3
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cheer Abyss,

    so no aux input for mine then. so if i fit the aftermarket unit do you know whether i can keep the steering wheel controls and the screen display features?

  4. #4
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ABYSS
    As for removing the unit, u can pick up removal tooks on ebay for a couple of quid
    Or Halfords. They sell a set of Double DIN pullers for a couple of quid. Worked a treat on my CCR 2006 when I needed to remove it.

    D

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    small tip,

    single din pullers will actually do the job, you just need to open the gap up by bending them,
    make the bend in the middle straight, and bend the two ends about 40mm in

    hope this helps
    BB

  6. #6
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cheers,

    will be looking to change the headunit pretty rapidly then as the radio and a single slot cd just won't suffice!! I need my mp3 player!!especially for long drives.

  7. #7
    Regular Member vectra 2.0 t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    tasmania
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    firstly you have to take the 4 little allen bolts out then use some din pullers as above. then pop along to vx and get a facia adaptor.then get a auto leads adapter for the steering wheel controls (sony kenwood).then choose yourself a nice stereo.(loads on ebay)

  8. #8
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I was looking into this as well, I like the look of the head unit as it blends well, I generally listen to either radio1 or Ipod, I was looking at this kit but still am unsure if it will work ? This thingy here ...

    You can get adapters to make the steering wheel work with an aftermarket Headunit

  9. #9
    Regular Member vectra 2.0 t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    tasmania
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bainie
    I was looking into this as well, I like the look of the head unit as it blends well, I generally listen to either radio1 or Ipod, I was looking at this kit but still am unsure if it will work ? This thingy here ...

    You can get adapters to make the steering wheel work with an aftermarket Headunit
    no that wont work with the new vx head unit

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Ipod to Factory Headunit? possible?
    By Kev_G in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th June 2011, 11:59
  2. Is there an ipod ready factory headunit?
    By Nato in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 19th June 2010, 21:29
  3. CD70 (factory bluetooth) question
    By Jim Bob in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 22nd November 2008, 22:33
  4. Adding a sub and amp to factory headunit
    By turbo2.0 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th August 2008, 00:10
  5. running amp on factory headunit
    By Kam B in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th February 2007, 09:31

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •