User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Aftermarket Stereo Fitment.

  1. #1
    Regular Member tgarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Newton Aycliffe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Aftermarket Stereo Fitment.

    56 plate vectra did have a CD30, Full can.

    I got myself a decent stereo and im have a 'mare fitting it.

    I got a new quadlock adapter fakra cable all ready to plug and play. Thats not the case.

    I plugged the quadlock in and... nothing. I got power as i heard the CD spin up. I dont however have any display on the stereo.

    I fiddled about with the wires and the best i can get is a constant connection (stereo wont go iff once iv turned the ignition off) or nothing.

    What am i doing wrong!!

    Iv had a look for a 'How 2' and iv had a search for any ideas but im drawing a blank.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Woking
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Exclusive

    Engine : 1.8vvt (Z18XER)

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 58000

    Default

    Check the menu options on the CD radio unit - there may be an option to switch between ignition / non ignition operation.
    Otherwise it's looking in detail at the pin-outs - normally there is permanent 12V and a switched ignition 12V and you have to match up the connections from car side to the radio side. Some radios don't have all the options - in which case wire up the ignition supply to the radio so it only operates with the ignition on.
    Last edited by Dal5band; 4th February 2012 at 14:24.

  3. #3
    Regular Member tgarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Newton Aycliffe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The quadlock i got didnt have the switched (red) wire conected up although it was there. The constant (yellow) was in place but it met up with the red wire from the car side.

    I have messed around with different wire positions but like i say the best i can get is a constant.

    From the car side, on the plug i have, from left to right, top to bottom:

    Blank - Green
    White - White
    Red - Blank
    Yellow- Brown

    Do the green and white need to be connected to anything maybe?

  4. #4
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Either join the red and the yellow up mate of put an ignition live on the red one

  5. #5
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 9-3 Wagon

    Trim : Turbo Edition

    Engine : TID (1.9 16v)

    Year : 2010

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Is the facelift the same as half can cars? If so there is no ignition live in the loom. You will have to take it from another feed like the cigi lighter.

    Sent from my Sony Ericsson Xperia using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Regular Member tgarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Newton Aycliffe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Boom!

    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showth...t=58334&page=2

    Thats what i was looking for. Although i have blown a fuse messing around with the wires so gotta fix that first.

  7. #7
    Regular Member 0114NIGEL0114's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SHEFFIELD
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I had the same prob with my head unit and I swapped the red and yellow round on the head unit so the red on the head unit went to the yellow on the car and yellow on the unit went to red on the car u sorta get the jist

  8. #8
    Regular Member tgarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Newton Aycliffe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah that was the first thing I did.

    Its not that simple by the sounds of things. Ill get to the bottom of it.

  9. #9
    Regular Member tgarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Newton Aycliffe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Double posy!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. aftermarket stereo cut out
    By Allan-DTI in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th June 2012, 19:55
  2. oem stereo fitment
    By marktaylor in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th March 2011, 09:05
  3. Aftermarket Stereo
    By GazVXLINE170 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th July 2010, 07:16
  4. Corsa stereo fitment
    By scott_150cdtisri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th January 2007, 16:41
  5. Stereo fitment
    By redbullkid in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th September 2006, 09:27

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •