User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Sub Problem

  1. #1
    Regular Member CraigoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Sub Problem

    Well about a month ago i fitted 2 12" subs and they worked perfect, a few weeks ago i had a few problems such as the ground and power wires coming out the amp when i was moving the seats up and down.

    So today i decided rather than just put it all back together the same and keep having this problem i moved the amp to the other side of the car so the wires had better fitting and less chance of coming out.

    But now i can't get both subs to work at the same time, i have the amp at the side of the sub so there is a short set of wires and a long set that goes round the back to the other side. Only the short one seems to work and if i turn the sub around and change the wires i still get the same. So both subs do work but only down 1 set of wires, could it be as simple as the longer wire is broken i dont have any type of wire to cut a new bit and test?

  2. #2
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    could be as simple as broken speaker wire
    are you running both channels on the amp left and right
    if so have you checked the shorter wire on the opersite chanel and the opersite for longer just to rule out blown channel or broken audio leads
    Last edited by 6009tristanb; 2nd February 2012 at 22:28.

  3. #3
    Regular Member CraigoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i didnt think to change the wire and try it the other way, il go see how cold it is outside and maybe try it now

  4. #4
    Regular Member CraigoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ok so i just went out and test the problem a little more,



    I have a "working - short" wire that if i put that in the red circle it doesnt work and just makes a popping sound to the bass of the music but its not very loud but if i put the "working - short" wire in the green circle it sounds and works perfect.

    Now the "broken - long" wire doesnt play a popping sound or the music its just silent as if its turned off and it doesnt matter if i put it in the green or red circle.

    im sorry if this is hard to understand

  5. #5
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    so long wire is broken somewhere along the length
    but the red circle shouldnt be popping so in order to rule out if its the amp is to swap the audio in left and right if the popping sound switches to the green and the working one to red you know you need to fix or replace audio in which is from headunit to amp
    if the popping stays on the green sounds to me like the channel on the amp is broken

  6. #6
    Regular Member CraigoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 6009tristanb View Post
    so in order to rule out if its the amp is to swap the audio in left and right if the popping sound switches to the green and the working one to red you know you need to fix or replace audio in
    sorry if it a stupid question but

    Does this just mean swap the rca leads so they dont match like red to white and white to red on the amp?

  7. #7
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CraigoT View Post
    sorry if it a stupid question but

    Does this just mean swap the rca leads so they dont match like red to white and white to red on the amp?

    yes just to rule out damage to the channel on the amp if the popping sound goes to the oppersite side you know its the leads/rca

  8. #8
    Regular Member CraigoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    right i swapped them over to the wrong way and the red one started to play like it should and the green didnt work

    so does this mean i should get new rca leads and a new wire to replace the longer "broken" wire?

  9. #9
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CraigoT View Post
    right i swapped them over to the wrong way and the red one started to play like it should and the green didnt work

    so does this mean i should get new rca leads and a new wire to replace the longer "broken" wire?

    yep new wire and a another speaker wire better than a new amp
    went through a few myself when i use to have amps and a wife throwing a buggy in the back
    in the end i bought new jack plugs and use to solder back together when they broke

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    try some new rca leads, if thatdoesnt work then id guess that you left the battery connected as you moved the amp and youve shorted the rca to the head unit... this is likely to damage the rca fracks in the head unit. if its a pioneer they have protection for this and can be a cheapish repair.... if you're running a line converter then you may bave fried it...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Rear Signum Light problem problem - help
    By scw02102 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th July 2012, 21:12
  2. Wiper Electrical Problem? (Not sticking or cold weather problem)
    By SRIAdam in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th July 2012, 16:13
  3. 1 problem sorted and 1 more problem arises
    By bunsen1 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 4th April 2011, 13:03
  4. Bit of a problem, Need Help
    By vectrasri-j in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th January 2010, 19:21
  5. Problem...? Vectra SXI...problem with starting after filling with fuel?
    By doozer in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th November 2008, 09:40

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •