User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: can u fit second hand cim?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ascot
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default can u fit second hand cim?

    Hi,
    It looks like my cim has gone pete tong!!!!
    Vauxhall want £420 just for the part.
    Now if i bought a second hand cim that matches my part number what would stop it being programmed to the car??

    Nick

  2. #2
    Regular Member benny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dudley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    nothing as long as it has been reset in the original car ...........

  3. #3
    Full Member plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    346 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    why not reset in the recipient car?
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now open and able to provide services

  4. #4
    Regular Member 0114NIGEL0114's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SHEFFIELD
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if u get the code for the new cim u can plug it into your car clear it then reprogramme it buy then putting the cim control unit code number from your old one into it and it will copy all the info stright to it very easy

  5. #5
    Full Member chrisvectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Are you VXR Enough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : VXR8 6.0 muscle SRI ESTATE XP1

    Trim : VXR/ SRI ESTATE CDTI XP1

    Engine : 6.0 V8 Thunder

    Year : 2008

    Default

    that dosnt sound easy lol say again in english please
    VXR IS FOR LIFE NOT JUST FOR THRILLS !



  6. #6
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

    Trim : Black

    Engine : 3.0D V6

    Year : 0000

    Default

    You can reset it in your car, as long as you have the original codes from the donor car it came from. Then setting it to your car is simple. As long as you have access to Tech2 or Op-Com

  7. #7
    Regular Member DSmiddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.8 V6T

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 50000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by s2yob View Post
    Hi,
    It looks like my cim has gone pete tong!!!!
    Vauxhall want £420 just for the part.
    Now if i bought a second hand cim that matches my part number what would stop it being programmed to the car??

    Nick
    Ouch! I have seen some other post saying the diag, CIM and tech2 reprogram was £320 but they didnt say if it was at a Vauxhall garage

    This is something I need to get done as well, my TC light is always on and have the steering wheel with ! up all the time.


    Dave

  8. #8
    Regular Member MalcGSI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    E Sussex & Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SmidBro View Post
    Ouch! I have seen some other post saying the diag, CIM and tech2 reprogram was £320 but they didnt say if it was at a Vauxhall garage

    This is something I need to get done as well, my TC light is always on and have the steering wheel with ! up all the time.


    Dave
    That was mine, it was for the Gsi and it was at a main dealers

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone need a hand?
    By keith1983 in forum Yorkshire (RO - vacant)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 7th February 2013, 11:48
  2. G3 compound by hand
    By Haza1981 in forum Detailing and Car Care Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 13th August 2011, 14:23
  3. Second hand GSI 3.2 Exhaust
    By andymagee1982 in forum How much is it worth? (THIS SECTION IS NOW CLOSED)
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 28th February 2009, 00:32

Visitors found this page by searching for:

what does the vauxhall vectra cim do

astra cim unit can i fit a second hand unit

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •