User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Cd70 nav antenna question

  1. #1
    Full Member RBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ecosse
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Cd70 nav antenna question

    fitted my cd70 nav into my car............it didnt come with the gps antenna.

    i bought this http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...=STRK:MEAFB:IT

    fitted it and still no gps signal.

    is this the wrong aerial?...........or a crap aerial?

    or do i need to change the aerial on the roof of my car too as its the standard aerial that was fitted to my car with the cd30

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Exact same one as i have mate. Plugged in in the back and and had GPS signal within a couple of mins, and within a few seconds from there on in.

    Lots of GPS units actually download whats called the ephemeris.. basically a map of where the gps sats are in the sky. This can take upto 1/2 an hour or so.

    I would recommend driving to somewhere with a clear sky, leave it searching for about 1/2 hour and see what happens. Might/Might not work. Cant hurt to try unless anyone can come up with a more definitve solution mate.

  3. #3
    Regular Member david-bell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    eastlothian scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Looks the right aerial rab don't no why your not getting a signal ?? I take it the disc I gave you is working ok .

  4. #4
    Full Member RBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ecosse
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aidi View Post
    Exact same one as i have mate. Plugged in in the back and and had GPS signal within a couple of mins, and within a few seconds from there on in.

    Lots of GPS units actually download whats called the ephemeris.. basically a map of where the gps sats are in the sky. This can take upto 1/2 an hour or so.

    I would recommend driving to somewhere with a clear sky, leave it searching for about 1/2 hour and see what happens. Might/Might not work. Cant hurt to try unless anyone can come up with a more definitve solution mate.
    Ive got the aerial inside the wee speaker housing on the top of the dash with grille back in place. Would i have to put this out somewhere else?

  5. #5
    Full Member RBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ecosse
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by david-bell View Post
    Looks the right aerial rab don't no why your not getting a signal ?? I take it the disc I gave you is working ok .
    I dunno david. The wee woman voice comes on when u press the button, but thats all.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thats where i have mine located. When i first installed i put the gps antenna on the roof to get a fix first, then when it was all working, i then installed it in the center speaker

  7. #7
    Regular Member david-bell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    eastlothian scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RBH View Post
    I dunno david. The wee woman voice comes on when u press the button, but thats all.
    Right so sounds like the disc is ok.Silly question but is your aerial plugged in to the white socket and not the blue one on the back of the head unit ? other than that not sure why your not getting a signal defo was working fine. unless the aerial is faulty maybe .

  8. #8
    Regular Member Dippy-Vx-line Red's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Earlston (Scottish Borders)
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Either a duff gps antenna or coud be a loose connection at the back of the cd70..I had this on my last vec..Had to order another antenna and also had to realy press and hold the actuall fakra connection to the back of the cd70 and after a few minutes bingo..HTH

  9. #9
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I always fit GPS patch aerials by Tera, listed for VW vehicles. - approx £15 all-in from e-bay

    As said above - if your CD70 has travelled a fair distance since it was last used, it will take upto about 1/2 hour to get a new fix on the satellite positioning.
    Every subsequent use will cause the CD70 to appear a little more accurate.

    In my Cav Mk3, I use a Tom Tom patch aerial with a fakra plug grafted on the rear.

    When I got my CD70, I found that the tiny copper pin inside the plug had been snapped... I had to insert some stranded copper wire in here to make up the connection.

    Finally the sat nav / gps aerial does indeed plug into the blue connector towards the corner of the rear panel of the head unit.

    The white connector is for the radio (RF) aerial.

  10. #10
    Full Member RBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ecosse
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    gps is plugged into the blue plug and the standard roof aerial is plugged into the white.

    am maybe auld, but dementias no quite set in lol...............i'll stick the aerial on the roof at the weekend...........i assume the sat nav will need to be switched on while i do this???

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CD70 Nav question?
    By carperjake in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 28th June 2012, 23:39
  2. Another CD70 question
    By dholbon in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2nd August 2011, 20:47
  3. cd70 question
    By mr bh in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st June 2010, 21:23
  4. cd70 question
    By davidlewis24 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 27th December 2009, 20:26
  5. CD70 question
    By sentinel_uk in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 8th July 2008, 20:21

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c gps antenna www.vectra-c.com

gps antenna vectra

no gps signal cd70

vectra c gps antenna

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •