User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Fuel gauge fault???

  1. #1
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fuel gauge fault???

    My car was pretty much out of fuel yesterday so i put £25 of shell vpower. drove from mine (ipswich) to the meet today about 70 miles and on the way home the fuel light came on i looked down a few miles later and the gauge was at the bottom and the light was flashing. so I got another £15 worth of fuel started the car and the gauge stayed at the bottom with the light still flashing. after about 4/5 miles of driving the gauge went slowly up and the light went out.
    has anyone had a similar experience or know what it might be. my range on trip computer always has seemed out i.e a 1/4 of a tank would say about 100 miles.
    many thanks

    p.s would of thought id of got to the meet and back for £25 140 mile round trip

  2. #2
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vauxhall vivaro

    Trim : Basic

    Engine : 1.9

    Year : 2004

    Default

    It's not a fault mate the sender unit. Doesn't register again once take is empty until you put atleast 15 litres in.

    Fill the tank and you'll be fine

  3. #3
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vauxhall vivaro

    Trim : Basic

    Engine : 1.9

    Year : 2004

    Default

    Also 25 quid worth of v power @ about 1.50 is roughly 16 litres
    So quick maths at that I'd say around 35mpg
    So doesn't seem that bad

    ( people good with maths please don't shoot me if that's wrong)

  4. #4
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Critch View Post
    It's not a fault mate the sender unit. Doesn't register again once take is empty until you put atleast 15 litres in.

    Fill the tank and you'll be fine
    but the light came on at top of red like normal then when i looked down again about 5 miles later it was at the bottom of the red and the fuel light was flashing. i was amazing why it went down so fast?

    i put another £15 in and the gauge stayed at the bottom of the red with the light flashing. normally when you put fuel in the gauge rises atleast?

    i know in the past if the light came on and say you only out a tenner in then the range would not reset until like you say put atleast 15 litres in?

  5. #5
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    £25 was about 17.5 litres @ £1.43 so about 4 gallons, i'd done about 110 miles so only its about 27.5 miles to the gallon, i looked at trip computer which said average 40.4 but ive not reset that for ages. i know the cars mapped but it doesnt all add up? just strange

  6. #6
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vauxhall vivaro

    Trim : Basic

    Engine : 1.9

    Year : 2004

    Default

    All I no I at lot people used complain about the astra being the same. But if you put at least quater of tank in when it's gone to empty you should be ok

  7. #7
    Regular Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sounds bit odd in places - brim the tank, reset the trip and the economy on the computer and see what it does...

  8. #8
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i dont have the original stereo anymore, i can reset everything else but not the range, is there a way to do it?

  9. #9
    Regular Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It's not the range you want to reset mate, it's economy reading under the BC...

  10. #10
    Regular Member Mads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich,.UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Penfold101 View Post
    It's not the range you want to reset mate, it's economy reading under the BC...
    under the BC...??? sorry if im being thick mate

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fuel Gauge
    By T4M in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 31st May 2013, 09:40
  2. Fuel gauge fault???
    By Mads in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th April 2012, 20:56
  3. fuel gauge
    By vauxie in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12th May 2010, 21:00
  4. rev counter/speedo/temp gauge/fuel gauge stopped working
    By bloodworm in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19th July 2009, 00:28
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th September 2008, 23:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •