User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need some ICE help please....

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Essex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Need some ICE help please....

    I am pretty useless when it comes to wires ect so could do with some help/advice please.

    I've got myself a DVD head unit and fitted Veba 6" monitors in my head rests.
    The problem is i'm not sure on the best way to get the video feed from the head unit to the monitors.
    The head unit has a single female video out and the monitors both have 2 video in conections. (I've taken a couple of pics below just to show what i mean).

    So whats the best way to go about connecting both monitors to the HU?
    Sorry if the answer is obvious, but as i said im useless




  2. #2
    Regular Member ben_3.0v6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    EMEC #3
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    One of those two yellow connaction on the screen will be an out.

    Therefore it upto your personal choice you can get a splitter for the single headunit out or connect the headunit to screen one "In" and the from screen one "Out" to screen two "In".

    Hope that makes sense to you matey.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Essex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ahh, i see.
    So i can run a video feed from one monitor to the other.
    Now i know what it means by 2-way video input
    Just didnt seem very clear to me at the time!

    Thanks Ben.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ben_3.0v6 View Post
    One of those two yellow connaction on the screen will be an out.

    Therefore it upto your personal choice you can get a splitter for the single headunit out or connect the headunit to screen one "In" and the from screen one "Out" to screen two "In".

    Hope that makes sense to you matey.
    Agree with the just get a splitter bit to connect the two screens to the one output but dissagree about one of the two connections on the screen being an out. I think it more likely the screen will have two inputs so it can be connected to either.....

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Essex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mucklestone View Post
    Agree with the just get a splitter bit to connect the two screens to the one output but dissagree about one of the two connections on the screen being an out. I think it more likely the screen will have two inputs so it can be connected to either.....
    Thats what confused me originally. I thought even if i fitted a splitter from the HU i'd still only be able to send a feed to one monitor as i naturally assumed that both the video in connectors on the monitor would need connecting.
    So thats makes me ask aonther question.... if its fine to fit a splitter on the HU and send a single lead to each monitor, why do the manufacturers fit 2 video input connections to the monitors if i only need 1?

  6. #6
    Regular Member ben_3.0v6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    EMEC #3
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The Picture ain't 100% clear but some double screen sets are setup in this way, I would suggest the splitter option as the best option as some of the alternative setup's are prone to having one slow screen and creating that annoying out of sequence effect.

  7. #7
    Regular Member ben_3.0v6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    EMEC #3
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nichols120 View Post
    Thats what confused me originally. I thought even if i fitted a splitter from the HU i'd still only be able to send a feed to one monitor as i naturally assumed that both the video in connectors on the monitor would need connecting.
    So thats makes me ask aonther question.... if its fine to fit a splitter on the HU and send a single lead to each monitor, why do the manufacturers fit 2 video input connections to the monitors if i only need 1?

    To connect another video source IE: in car PC, Xbox, PS3 etc etc......

  8. #8
    Regular Member david-bell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    eastlothian scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra vxr

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2008

    Mileage : 31000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nichols120 View Post
    Thats what confused me originally. I thought even if i fitted a splitter from the HU i'd still only be able to send a feed to one monitor as i naturally assumed that both the video in connectors on the monitor would need connecting.
    So thats makes me ask aonther question.... if its fine to fit a splitter on the HU and send a single lead to each monitor, why do the manufacturers fit 2 video input connections to the monitors if i only need 1?
    So you can hook an other feed such as play station or Xbox

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Essex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the help guys, i'll be fitting it all next weekend and will post some pics up when its all done.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •