User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Flat battery and fuse 31 problem

  1. #1
    New Member spinnaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    UK, Bedfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Flat battery and fuse 31 problem

    Hello,
    I am a new user there and I decided to start a new topic coz I don't found a solution of my problem with flat battery in my wife's Vauxhall Vectra C 1.9 CDTI 150 (2006).
    The problem:
    On every morning I have flat or almost flat battery.
    Battery - new, voltmeter tested
    Alternator - almost new, voltmeter tested
    Current consumption when an engine switched off - a little above 1A - tested with ammeter.
    Fuse box at rear - tested one by one - all OK
    Fuse box at passenger side - tested one by one - all OK
    Fuse box near battery - fuse number 31 - current consumption when fuse removed - 0.05A
    After that I tested all fuses with http://img20.imageshack.us/i/f31i.jpg
    http://img20.imageshack.us/i/f31opis1.jpg
    and I found:
    If I remove fuses (fuse box on passenger side): Fl1, Fl5, Fl6 and FL7, Fl9, Fl12, Fl15, Fl18(not present), Fl10, Fl11, and Fl17 - I have current consumption = 0.05A, so the current eater will be one or all of these: XE1 - body & underhood electical centre, Body and instrument panel, Instrument panel and instrument panel body electrical.
    Question.
    What are they and where they are in Vectra ?

    thanks,

  2. #2
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 140 Ecoflex S/S

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Taken from the 2007 ower's manual (yours is a 2006?) http://www.vauxhallproductforum.co.uk/articles/2217.pdf.

    Page 248 in the book or page 253 on the PDF counter.

    Not sure if you mean the fuse box inside the passenger door or the one in the engine bay. The pages I've given are for the ones inside the apssenger door.

    HTH.
    Last edited by gtr1000; 9th January 2012 at 17:24.

  3. #3
    New Member spinnaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    UK, Bedfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gtr1000 View Post
    Taken from the 2007 ower's manual (yours is a 2006?) http://www.vauxhallproductforum.co.uk/articles/2217.pdf.

    Page 248 in the book or page 253 on the PDF counter.

    Not sure if you mean the fuse box inside the passenger door or the one in the engine bay. The pages I've given are for the ones inside the apssenger door.

    HTH.
    Thanks mate but I'm looking for place where are: XE1 - body & underhood electical centre, Body and instrument panel, Instrument panel and instrument panel body electrical.- all from electric scheme on picture http://img20.imageshack.us/i/f31i.jpg

    I have the owner's manual but thanks for electronic version

    The fuses from 1st to 17th was removed from fusebox in passenger compartment and the fuse 31th (60A) from engine compartment.

    I have no idea ... car tested with op-com today - one error (code B3794 - 08/ cruise control).
    Last edited by spinnaker; 9th January 2012 at 18:04.

  4. #4
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 140 Ecoflex S/S

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Heh, nice RT - 1100 or 1150?

    Have you tested the alarm for current draw and voltage drop?

  5. #5
    New Member spinnaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    UK, Bedfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gtr1000 View Post
    Heh, nice RT - 1100 or 1150?

    Have you tested the alarm for current draw and voltage drop?
    1100, R1150RT has a wide headlamp.

    Alarm tested. OK.

  6. #6
    Regular Member benny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dudley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    right wire your amp meter up in line and dubble lock the car and allow 5-8 min for all the systems to break down and discharge (if you amp drop the car with the car unlocked and open the car will be in a ready state and looking to be woken up so will give a miss reading) once the car has settled i bet you will have a varing amp pulse will rise and fall at regular times ....if you do have a "moveing amp pulse" you have a faulty uec ....common on vec of your age ...

  7. #7
    New Member spinnaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    UK, Bedfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benny View Post
    if you do have a "moveing amp pulse" you have a faulty uec ....common on vec of your age ...
    UEC - Did you mean, Underhood Electrical Centre (Xe1)? And yes, I have moving amp pulse. Do someone know where to buy it and where can I find it in Vectra. Do it need to be programmed out of the car ?

    cheers,

  8. #8
    Regular Member Ben50n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Seaham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have you checked for an earth leak through the alternator?

  9. #9
    Regular Member TonyP2020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Mokka

    Trim : SE - Orange Rock 's !!

    Engine : 1.7CDTi

    Year : 2014

    Default

    According to the Haynes Manual Fuse 31 (60A) is described as Vehicle Interior Module Control Unit.
    It feeds a lot of stuff.
    Maybe removing fuses below will help to narrow it down.
    Time consuming I know.

    F16 Passenger Fusebox feeds the Stop and Reversing lights.
    Unlikely, 1A = 12watts, those bulbs are 21W, unless they are on dimly.

    F13 Rear Fusebox feeds Trailer Socket.

    F17 Passenger Fusebox feeds the Instrument Cluster.

    F18 Passenger Fusebox feeds the Electric Mirrors.
    F15 Passenger Fusebox feeds the Electric Mirrors.

    F8 Passenger Fusebox feeds the Electric Windows and Central Locking.
    F5 Passenger Fusebox feeds the Electric Windows and Central Locking.
    F15 Passenger Fusebox feeds the Electric Windows and Central Locking.

    So a quick idea at what to look at is the Electric Windows.
    Why? because if you hold the up button with the windows closed you will hear the motor operate briefly and cut out, and repeat as long as you hold the button.
    So maybe listening carefully to the doors (and Mirrors??) after locking the car might narrow it down.
    Removing the door switches, leaving the car unlocked, and checking again with the Amp meter might also help.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Flat Battery - AGAIN!
    By Keif in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 27th March 2011, 21:47
  2. flat battery
    By middler31 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th July 2009, 20:55
  3. Flat battery
    By mjvalentine in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th January 2008, 21:51
  4. flat battery
    By LAV6Y in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th February 2007, 21:47
  5. Help, flat battery
    By Matt21385 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 5th May 2006, 20:55

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c fuse31

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •