User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Amp Wiring

  1. #1
    Regular Member parapaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Question Amp Wiring

    I'm now the proud owner of a JBL GTO 75.2 amp and JBL GT4 12" sub

    (thanks, jazzy_2.2dti)

    Now I need to wire it up. I've got an estate, and I think (haven't actually been and measured yet) that the standard 5m of RCA cable that comes in all the kits isn't going to be enough! So looks like I'm off to the local ICE shop to buy it all separately!

    Before I go and buy anything, will someone just confirm that 8 gauge wire will be sufficient for the power cable? I'm not planning to add any more to this install, or upgrage it in any way.

    Cheers!

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ohh.. ICE question...

    the only ICE i know is in a glass mate.. hopefully one of our 'ICEMEN' will be along..

  3. #3
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 9-3 Wagon

    Trim : Turbo Edition

    Engine : TID (1.9 16v)

    Year : 2010

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsi3.2 View Post
    Ohh.. ICE question...

    the only ICE i know is in a glass mate.. hopefully one of our 'ICEMEN' will be along..
    You mean we have got you at last!

  4. #4
    Regular Member Spikey©'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm not a huge expert on the subject either, but I think you were supplied 8 guage as part of the kit, therefore I should think that it would be fine. I'd imagine it would be fine anyhow. My system has a similar rating to yours and I have 8 guage with no trouble

  5. #5
    Regular Member Spikey©'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rushy View Post
    You mean we have got you at last!



    Mark's a thicko!!!


  6. #6
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 9-3 Wagon

    Trim : Turbo Edition

    Engine : TID (1.9 16v)

    Year : 2010

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Im sure the longer the runs the thicker the wire?

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Leighton Buzzard
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    GSI3.2 ( in disguise)

    yep, you boys got me... i'm a spannerman.. not an ICE guru..I have a grren growler for things like that.. he knows for sure...

    I do the spanners, he can do the sparks..

  8. #8
    Regular Member Maddog1974's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    In theory the max power that amp would use is 42 amps (@500w) realistically that will rarley happen for more than a split second. 8 gauge wire should be fine especially as your not going to add more to it.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spikey© View Post


    Mark's a thicko!!!

    yeah, 'fraid it is so...when it comes to ICE i haven't got much 'in depth' knowledge.. when the choice came up many years ago or 'big engine or big ICE' i spent all my money on big engines..... and still do....

    does it play my CD's????... that'll do!!

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Fiat

    Trim : Panda 100HP

    Engine : 1.4

    Year : 08

    Default

    A 5m rca is ample on a h/back(behind seat),power cable is just enough doesn't give many options on placing,got a good 60amp autoleads wiring kit on ebay for £15 inc p&p, the bloke has a few if you still need one.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Tow Bar Wiring Help Please
    By countduckula55 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd July 2012, 10:55
  2. Wiring help please?
    By Danwells72 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th March 2010, 23:13
  3. I need help with wiring.
    By gibbon7000 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 8th June 2009, 00:41
  4. Sub Amp Wiring kit
    By nick-v2.2 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th April 2009, 22:32
  5. Tow wiring
    By amiddleton in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th May 2008, 07:57

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •