User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: Harmon Kardon Play + Drive system ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member Draggon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Harmon Kardon Play + Drive system ?

    Hello All

    Sorry if this has been repeated somewhere...I really did do a search.

    I am thinking about buying the HK kit as I do not want to change the HU in the vectra...being that it is a compnay car etc.

    Can the HK system be linked happily with a CD30 HU with CANBUS ?
    Can the HK kit be mounted without drilling?
    What is the sound like through the antenae lead?
    Any good ideas on where to mount?

    Sorry for the lame questions...just want to get it right.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Regular Member Paddy2bsure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Will you have CANBUS on an '04? Or is it for another motor?

    You can physically wire the thing happily into any CANBUS system, but the latest CD30 uses a FAKRA tyre aerial - you would need to buy some adapters so the wired FM transmitter worked. Earlier systems have standard-type aerial connectors (ISO or DIN - adapters readily available). Sound quality is usually reasonably good, except when a local radio station interferes with the link (rarely - but in SE London with all the pirate stations, it can be an issue)!

    You can mount it without drilling - use the strongest double-sided tape you can find (3M stuff is usually a winner).

    Personally I would mount the display on the drivers side of the dashboard, just above the air vent - subtle location, not immediately obvious to any robbing little scrotes! Or you could plumb it in to the centre of the dash, just behind the windscreen - cable is easily hidden there too.

    I'm not familiar enough with my Vectra yet to suggest a place to put the controller, but my fave would be to glue the ashtray closed, then stick it to the lid!!! Extreme maybe, but functional - and it's easy to hide the wires!

    Lots of info on www.harmankardon.com

  3. #3
    Regular Member Draggon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks Paddy

    I think mine has the CANBUS system...I have no real idea if it does but it is a late '54 reg.
    I still keep umming and ahhing wether to go the Harmon route......even with it wired too the antenae directly, local stations etc can still interfere


    May have to go the whole HU option with wiring loom adapters etc ....not a major problem...but it is a compnay car...didnt want to muck around much

  4. #4
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've got one of these plumbed into the aerial connection on my CDC40 & I think it sounds pretty good, you'll get some hiss as it works through FM. I got the fakra converters from a local car stereo dealers & the drive n play came off ebay for around 80 notes. I got the drill out for mine though!!, I've mounted the display onto the top L/H switch blank, slightly overlapping but not obscurring the hazard light swith, I've fitted the controller switch to the steering column cover just below the indicators, easily reached from the steering wheel, the electonics all fit behind the heater controls & the IPOD is in the glove box. Mines a company car too & I have a spare blank to fit back into where the display is & will stick a circular screw cover over the hole in the steering column. Took power from the back of the stereo & accessory socket.

    If you're reallly interested I can stick some pics on.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Draggon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks Chap....any info is good info

    If you can put pics up that would be cool

  6. #6
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default




    Hope this gives you some ideas

  7. #7
    Regular Member Draggon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Excellent...like where the control stalk is...food for thought me thinks

    Thanks for the pics

  8. #8
    Regular Member Paddy2bsure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Nice install!

  9. #9
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    All the cables are hidden, all the electronics are behind the heater controls & the plastics are a great match for the veccy. The sound quality is very good when wired through the aerial, but rubbish if used as a local transmitter, would be better if the stereo had a line in but you can't have eveything.

  10. #10
    Regular Member markm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi, my 1st post, I've got a 2004 Vectra SRI with a CD2005 head unit, I fitted in the H+K Drive and play, to replace my going colection of CD's with an IPOD, (fitted the screen in to the sun glasses holder purchased from LMF Vauxhall)

    The radio quality is OK and the IPOD quality is pretty good, its only been in a week and being totally Anal I'm not happy with the 5%/10% drop in quality through the radio,

    I'm thinking of selling the Drive and Play and changing the head unit but seen some posts that say you can't change the time once you've changed the radio!!

    Any suggestions ????

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Harman Kardon Drive + play
    By 1.9Cdti Elite in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th November 2009, 06:28
  2. iPod 20gb + Harmon Kardon Drive+Play
    By FuzzyOne in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th May 2009, 12:51
  3. Harman/Kardon IPOD Drive + Play
    By deanos in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st July 2008, 19:43
  4. A question for the Harmon/Kardon Drive & Play owners
    By SignumPhil in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th February 2008, 11:12
  5. Harmon Kardon Drive & Play (IPOD integration)
    By greeningr in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th February 2006, 16:35

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •