User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Getting Double Din to sit flush?

  1. #1
    Regular Member Mark2.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    North East Uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Getting Double Din to sit flush?

    How did you lot get your headunits to sit flush, or near enough? Well I have just fitted mine tonight and it's sticking out a little, or is it normal?





  2. #2
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    MOst dont come further in.. but it depends on the model and the fitting kit.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Mark2.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    North East Uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think my fitting kit is the same as most peoples on here. My Pioneer is this years model. It's sitting not too bad, I was just wondering if it could have gone back a bit more. Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    it al depends on the depth of the head unit, the 3300BT isnt that deep so the side clips in the fascia kit can be adjusted so that the head unit sits flush and then you just need to dremel the black surround piece down so that it is only 8mm deep measured from the front... the sides of the black surround need to be taken a couple of mm deeper towards the middle so that they clear the spring clips that hold the hea unit in.

    to see if you can get it to sit flush, remove the side clips and then try sliding it in as far as it will go, its best to do this with the glovebox and vents\screen removed so that you can ensure that the cables arent getting in the way, the main loomcan be pushed towards the bottom left corner through a gap into the void of the dash.

    dont do as i did though and start freaking out cos your head unit doesnt work when fitted wthout the screen plugged in and start trying to find faulty connection that doesnt exist... lol... plug the screen back in and it all works again!

  5. #5
    Regular Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    +1

    It took me ages to get my JVC to sit flush with the facia of the fitting kit (which as yours shows also sits out slightly from the rest of the kit )

    Take your time and try different fitting pionts on the harness to see which gets it the flush'ist...

    This is how mines looks




    Just on a side note... I have speaking to eonon on AON about thier flush fit bouble din which looks OEM. I have explained about the crease and that some of the vectra's / signums are half can and others full can bus. They are speaking to their R&D department about it right now and my bring a unit out like the VCMMI with more functionality and less of a price tag... Will keep you posted on this one.

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats




    Year : 06

    Default

    As mattdc said I did same thing to mine and look like its ment to be there now looks smart at flush

  7. #7
    Regular Member Mark2.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    North East Uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers for the info. I will have another play about with it tomorrow. How far up did you have the locking tags on the radio fitted? I found this picture and copied off this...


  8. #8
    Regular Member Mark2.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    North East Uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well after a few tries my new Pioneer is now fitted, it was a mission it was to remove the last time it went in. I marked the sides of it a little trying to get it back out, but it can't been see when the radio is fitted. I have put it in so I know I won't be taking it out in a long while. I even have the leads ready for the rear view camera down by the glove box area, so I can access them better when needed. I don't want to try and remove the radio again for sure. Anyway it's now sitting more flush than it was last time...






  9. #9
    Regular Member paddyvectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Carterton, but.....I walk a lonely road the only road i have ever known
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    what fitting kit isit? isit specific to the model or just a general vectra one? and where did ya get it?

  10. #10
    Regular Member Mark2.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    North East Uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It's for the Vectra range in general, will fit all Vectra models. I bought it from Ebay, but Car Audio Security sell them as well.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Double din flush fitting?
    By krazylegz in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th October 2012, 06:53
  2. Flush what you think
    By marc vectra sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th November 2011, 15:24
  3. Flush or No Flush(2.2Dti)
    By FRANKA in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th August 2009, 20:35
  4. to flush or not to flush
    By copperdock in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 2nd January 2008, 22:56
  5. Flush fit sub
    By rushy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th September 2005, 23:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

sjould a double din pioneer sit flusht

eonon wont sit flush

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •