User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: TomTom owners: Where do you fit yours in your Vec?

  1. #1
    Regular Member RSV_Ecosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default TomTom owners: Where do you fit yours in your Vec?

    Just bought a TomTom One v2 from Halfords this morning. Used my mates a few times and was happy with its performance so I've treated myself to an early xmas pressie.

    Anyway, stuck it on the window in the middle of the dash and it seems fine there.

    But I was wondering, those of you here who have a TomTom or any other retro-fit sat-nav, whereabouts in your Vectra do you fit it when its in use?.

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    iPAQ with TomTom software and a Bluetooth GPS.......

    (Pics taken before boost gauge fitted!)





  3. #3
    Regular Member RSV_Ecosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Nice!!!

    Thats along the lines of what I was thinking about. Not sure I'm keen on using the "sucker" mount as not only does it leave marks all over the glass, the wire trails right down infront of all the centre console controls to the cig lighter charger.

    Will need to investigate on alternative mounting fixings like that one you have, Duncan.

    Cheers for the pics.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i always have to mount mine really high up the screen, right next to the rear view mirror, it's the only way i get any reception for the bleedin' thing!! it's a GO 300 by the way.

    i was originally told that the heat reflective screen plays havoc with the signal and around the rear view mirror is the only place where the screen is 'clear'

    but other people don't seem to have this problem whatsoever! so mine is just odd!

  5. #5
    Regular Member Elite2.2DTi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southampton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I dont have a TomTom, use a Navman, but i've got mine just above the ash tray, not a smoker so theres no need for it.



    I also run a GPS antenna from the rear of the car to the front, so the Sat Nav will still get a signal not being in the window.


  6. #6
    Regular Member redbullkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sunny Aberdeen
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Mine is here ................






  7. #7
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry
    i always have to mount mine really high up the screen, right next to the rear view mirror, it's the only way i get any reception for the bleedin' thing!! it's a GO 300 by the way.

    i was originally told that the heat reflective screen plays havoc with the signal and around the rear view mirror is the only place where the screen is 'clear'
    Harry, why not get the external antenna for the GO and position in that clear area by the mirror, then you can position your GO where you want it and run the cable around your trim/screen to it.

    D

  8. #8
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RSV_Ecosse
    Thats along the lines of what I was thinking about. Not sure I'm keen on using the "sucker" mount as not only does it leave marks all over the glass, the wire trails right down infront of all the centre console controls to the cig lighter charger.
    Yep, that does away with all those trailing cables. You can tap off the headlight cables to provide either permanent or ignition 12V.
    Quote Originally Posted by RSV_Ecosse
    Will need to investigate on alternative mounting fixings like that one you have, Duncan.
    That particular one I have - the bit you see going into the top of the mount is by Dashmount who do various products. I didn't want one that covered the vent and that one fitted the bill. The TomTom mount then just attached to it. Also have a look at Brodit as they do good stuff as well.
    Quote Originally Posted by RSV_Ecosse
    Cheers for the pics.
    No probs!

  9. #9
    Regular Member RSV_Ecosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the info folks.

    Been having a dig around and there seems to be quite a few alternative mounting kits for the TomTom One, original version.

    However, mine is the new One v2 ( slimline one ) and stuff seems to be a little thinner on the ground at the moment for it.

    @Elite2.2DTi........in what way have you got that mounted there on the ashtray?. Non-smoker here as well, so it never gets used either.

    @redbullkid.......smae again, in that pic, where is it actually mounted?.

    @Duncan.....Thanks again for the additional info and leads, will check them out and see if they do any kit for the v2 model.


  10. #10
    Regular Member Madgunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Worrying bout nothing..... Cause worryings a waste of my f***ing time!
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I placed mine bottom right hand side of the windscreen,it's all hardwired in and works perfectly


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Tomtom?
    By Steven in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12th March 2012, 21:19
  2. !!!Attention all diesel owners!!! (Petrol owners may want a look too!)
    By John LE in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 18th April 2009, 20:56
  3. tomtom 1 help
    By deano1 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th June 2008, 09:43
  4. TomTom 500
    By david173 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 19th May 2006, 19:23
  5. To all TomTom owners
    By Duncan in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd November 2005, 12:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •