User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: quick ABS question ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default quick ABS question ?

    code on OP-COM reads c0040-06 front right speed sensor circuit open or low voltage , does the ABS on all other corners still work or is it all defective till this is fixed ?
    pretty sure its the 2 pin connector on the harness under the arch as its corroded so until I can source ne wiring whats the score with it ??
    cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Mk1 renault scenic... I know I know but it drives

    Trim : Basic

    Engine : 1.6 16v

    Year : 2003

    Default

    it will turn off all theabs mate

    can you disconnect and clean the connector with some wd40?
    do you get a reading on multi meter when turning the wheel?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    tried that mate but not sure if I done it correctly , reading was o ohms and still same wen I turned hub ?
    not sure if my ancient MMR is up to it ?
    will try jump the wires first before a new hub .

  4. #4
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Mk1 renault scenic... I know I know but it drives

    Trim : Basic

    Engine : 1.6 16v

    Year : 2003

    Default

    it could be that the sensor is duff or incorrectly gapped if still reads 0.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CritchvxD View Post
    it could be that the sensor is duff or incorrectly gapped if still reads 0.
    cant be incorrectly gapped tho as its in the hub and communicates with th driveshaft , an thats all tight .

  6. #6
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Mk1 renault scenic... I know I know but it drives

    Trim : Basic

    Engine : 1.6 16v

    Year : 2003

    Default

    do you get a voltage if you turn the hub?

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CritchvxD View Post
    do you get a voltage if you turn the hub?
    no , no change but I have done this on a hub that is ok so might be my meter too , will jump / bypass the connector tomoro an let you know the outcome .
    cheers

  8. #8
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    Sounds pretty much the same as what happened to mine. The wire that runs between the chassi leg and hub has a round 2 pin female connector and the connector corrodes away. The wire isn't much from VX

  9. #9
    Regular Member billpayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    essex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Glad I found this thread, saves me making another

    I have just failed mot with intermitant abs fault, the abs and tc lights are on pretty much all the time but sometimes go of for a few days at a time. I had a guy look at it and he pulled a few conectors apart sprayed them with wd40 wich didnt do anything. He said that the wire comes in three parts and wants to change 2 of them and that this might fix it if not it would be a new hub.

    When he read the fault he had a snap-on fault reader and it said there was an 'open circuit nsf'.

    so my questions are,

    1. is he right to suggest this couse of action?
    2. is it possible for me to try and clean the sensor in the hub?

    thanks

    bill

  10. #10
    Regular Member billpayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    essex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Glad I found this thread, saves me making another

    I have just failed mot with intermitant abs fault (Signum 2.2d), the abs and tc lights are on pretty much all the time but sometimes go of for a few days at a time. I had a guy look at it and he pulled a few conectors apart sprayed them with wd40 wich didnt do anything. He said that the wire comes in three parts and wants to change 2 of them and that this might fix it if not it would be a new hub.

    When he read the fault he had a snap-on fault reader and it said there was an 'open circuit nsf'.

    so my questions are,

    1. is he right to suggest this couse of action?
    2. is it possible for me to try and clean the sensor in the hub?

    thanks

    bill

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. quick question
    By scottyd in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th August 2011, 21:39
  2. Quick Question - Need a Quick Answer if Possible
    By RobW in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th February 2011, 23:55
  3. DAB Box quick question
    By qsdjdan in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th December 2009, 01:25
  4. Quick Question
    By Perry in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th October 2008, 22:14
  5. A quick question
    By Maverick in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13th May 2007, 14:53

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •