User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Post codes in CD70 NAVI satnav - who has this working ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northampton :-( How the hell did that happen ?!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Post codes in CD70 NAVI satnav - who has this working ?

    Hi All - I know this is touched upon in various threads elsewhere, which are mostly about firmware and map updates etc. However - it's driving me nuts so I thought I'd raise a specific question - Who, in fact, is able to use post code entry in their CD70 satnav, and what firmware & map version do you have please? I have the very latest firmware that I'm aware of (10/2007) and the 2010/2011 maps....in my 2005 Veccy 1.9 CDTi.. but I cannot for the life of me enter postcodes into the satnav !. I had the 2005 firmware till recently of course, but then flashed it a few weeks ago to 2007 - kind of expected a 'postcode' entry field to appear - that would have been nice - but none did. I've read that in fact you use the first 5 characters of 'town' to enter the postcode... but that simply does not get recognised !! Entering 'NN', for example, for a Northampton postcode, causes it to look for towns beginning "Nn..."; no recognition of that as the beginning of a postcode. My Firmware disc is dealer genuine, but the Map disc is Ebay spurious - might that be the issue ? I have also noticed a total loss of TMC (and/or Trafficmaster) updates with that map disc. Could the postcode bit possibly need a Tech2 tweak to enable it ? All help gratefully received... I hate it that my girlfriend's £99 tomtom does what my CD70 cannot !! :-) Cheers - Chris

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    from what i have heard the 9/10 map is the last of the tmc... i have the 9/10 map & the tmc works... to enter the post code use the the enter town part & just start typing the start of the post code, it only takes the first 5 digit ie BD21 7 & that's the lot
    hth

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northampton :-( How the hell did that happen ?!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks dh. I also heard it switched from TMC to Trafficmaster at some point, which presumably was 09/10 as you say (?) .. my 2011 map disc has a Trafficmaster logo on it... but I didn't even get alerts from Trafficmaster when I was running the 2005 software with that map (and I'm still not!!). Hence why I flashed the software to the 10/2007 (latest / last) version.... in the hope that it might suppor Trafficmaster. But sadly - no alerts.. and all the 'TMC' options in the HU remain stubbornly 'TMC', rather than changing to 'Trafficmaster;' as I hoped. In terms of postcode - as mentioned in my first post, I did hear about and have tried using 'town' for postcode entry, but as I said, it just does its normal thing of trying to work out which town you mean... it doesn't just let you enter a postcode and hit 'start navi'. Or - and this only just occurred to me - do you have to enter the postcode using something other than the rotary commander button ? - ie, using the number keys on the HU for the numeric part ? Cheers

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No mate i just use the scroll wheel, i don't think my unit has ever had an update (car is 2006) & as it's working as i want it to, i won't be fixing what aint broke either

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northampton :-( How the hell did that happen ?!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    LOL I don't blame you. But still my problem remains - latest software in the HU, latest map disc, no postcode entry !. I work in IT so I don't think I'm a numpty (despite what the kids tell me) but this is definitely not working in my car !!. Gahhhh. All I can think is - i) it's because I have a gash Ebay map disc, or ii) it's because something needs tweaking with Tech2.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: Cd70 navi colour satnav full set
    By pszczo in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th March 2013, 20:44
  2. CD70 satnav not working
    By davidj387 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th December 2012, 23:44
  3. Satnav cd70 Navi
    By Chris41 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd January 2011, 21:58
  4. TMC not working on CD70 Navi
    By Abernus in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 9th January 2010, 11:09
  5. This May Help Someone - CD70 Navi won't display my satnav maps or graphics..
    By Ademusic in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st January 2010, 01:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

can i scroll through map on cd 70 satnav

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •