User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: has anyone fitted a VCMMI headunit ?

  1. #1
    Vectra-sport Admin Dre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vectra-sport Admin
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : VXD




    Default has anyone fitted a VCMMI headunit ?

    as above now my cd70 is on its last legs i`ve been looking at the VCMMI unit and wondered if anyone has one fitted and what your thoughts are of the unit before i take the plunge i want it to look oe and still have the full use of the factory features which is why i`m looking at one of these


    link to unit http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VAUXHALL-V...item3369e18dd1

  2. #2
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    someone has but cant remember, but it'll come to me in a minuit. Most of these units are made for the Astra so have the crease down the front, its hard to tell on that pic as it looks a little blurred in that area.

  3. #3
    Regular Member JohnSH8892's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cambridge
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Not fitted one but that does look like a better fitting Zenec system.

    Nice price! £50 extra for Satnav, £120 for fitted Rear parking and a free reverse camera.

    Tempting..... but not for a while.

  4. #4
    Vectra-sport Admin Dre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vectra-sport Admin
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : VXD




    Default

    thanks for the replies

    most of them are for the astra but this is for the vectra its the first one i have seen and from the picture it appears to fit better without the big crease in the middle which has always put me off




    it comes with the rear camera and satnav software so all i need is a patch lead from the bay that will go from the factory navi aerial to the sma fitting on the vcmmi unit

  5. #5
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Yes but I think that's for half can cars mate, couldn't tell you what difference it makes, it could just be the buttons over scroll wheels but I remember reading it on the UK distributers web site a few years ago. It suck in my mind because I couldn't work out why an older model cost over £100 more than a the full can version.

    This is the one I was thinking about from my first reply.

  6. #6
    Vectra-sport Admin Dre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vectra-sport Admin
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : VXD




    Default

    thanks for digging out that link looking at the units they are different i think i will give them a call and ask if its for full canbus or part canbus

  7. #7
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    The picture does indeed show a half can car - buttons on the steering wheel, but that is not the end of the world.

    If you know which wires go where, then a Half CAN radio will run in a full CAN car, and vice versa...
    (You would just need an Quadlock to ISO conversion lead - SOT 122S, I think).

    I run a Full CAN CD70 in a Non-CAN Cavalier using an ISO2KAR adapter lead.

    When you say that your CD70 is on it's last legs, what is up with it?

    The reason I ask, is that I am looking for a salvage CD70 faceplate that I can modify (Reshape to suit my Cavalier).

  8. #8
    Vectra-sport Admin Dre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vectra-sport Admin
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : VXD




    Default

    the navi side of it has died and it likes spitting mp3 discs out when it feels like it apart from that it works great, sorry but i will be keeping hold of the unit should i sell/trade the car then it will go back in Thanks for the info about the wiring i`m going to call them tomorrow and see what its setup to run on

  9. #9
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    No worries,
    You don't ask, then you don't get...

    Regarding the CD drive, I usually find that this is a dirty laser lense.
    A quick clean with a cotton-bud / q-tip soon returns the drive to full service.

    Regarding the Nav, if it is lack of signal, then try a replacement patch aerial.
    If it is a software / firmware issue, then try borrowing a firmware update disk, and an alternative map disk... if this still doesn't work, then yes the Navi unit itself may be faulty.
    Although again, it is worth cleaning the Navi drive laser lens.

    However I have worked on two CD70's, and neither have had a hardware problem.


    To be honest though, the proposed replacement looks a lot better, and I am sure that the sat-nav set-up will be a lot better than the very basic CD70.
    Last edited by Robsey; 28th September 2011 at 01:49.

  10. #10
    Vectra-sport Admin Dre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vectra-sport Admin
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : VXD




    Default

    the navi is dead i had to swap the cable over to the cd part on the board to eject the disc so i know the drive is fine , before it died the unit would turn its self off i`ve had it apart as much as i can and there are no dry joints the only part of the board i didnt tamper with is the components under the large silver plate as its soldered down i suspect a capacitor or resistor has failed and vxl dont repair them its a case of chuck it in the bin and cough up 1300 sheets for a new unit which is not going to happen



    On a positive note i rang ttints up today and had a good chat with one of the guys on the tech support line and asked if it was full can or not he asked what year and if it was facelift or not then said it will work fine hes fitted one before to a full canbus and the wheel controls will still work as normal along with the cid showing radio station etc and the on board computer will not be effected he said its basically identical to the vxmmi unit thats in the astras apart from the front fascia and no built in tv but i can add a freeview box into it should i want tv and that this one is more flush without the big crease he also confirmed i would need to change the connector on the factory loom for the sat nav which wont be a problem as i can buy a patch lead cheap enough on the bay

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New Headunit Fitted
    By scotty84 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 16th December 2011, 00:09
  2. Anyone fitted one? VX dvd headunit (ebay)
    By scotty84 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th June 2011, 12:28
  3. Who's fitted a new headunit?
    By TonyJames in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 14th March 2010, 15:26
  4. New Headunit Fitted
    By bigboynigs in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th September 2009, 18:18
  5. New headunit fitted
    By falco in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th December 2007, 17:26

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •