User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: 3.0 V6 weird running & idle

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ascot
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default 3.0 V6 weird running & idle

    Hi,
    Car has been running really well for last 6,000 miles since I did fuel filter change. . . . . But today the gremlins hit back.

    First I was driving down the M3 at about 70 when the re-gen kicked in so car was smoking a bit then everything seemed ok . . . Alas not to be, the car seemed to run under power, then every time I put my foot down as soon as it hit 3,000 rpm the car goes into limp mode ( but no lights ), the weirdest bit though is when stationery the idle is hunting, it goes between 800rpm and 1200 rpm!!!!

    Any ideas? My cheap code reader says no codes, and I have no lights but something is amiss, the idle bit is really confusing me

    Nick

  2. #2
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Regen on a 2005?
    Is it an estate?

    See earlier replies, take the car to a mechanic with experience of the Y30DT or Z30DT (depending on which is fitted as 2005 was the changeover year) for full engine diagnostic
    It is known that some engine faults are not extreme enough to cause fault codes, so needs traditional diagnostic (hammer and spanner)

  3. #3
    Regular Member BigWilko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Barnsley
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    change the fuel filter mate. I had it while i was on holiday this summer.Within a week the car was undrivable. For the sake of 10 quid i'd recommend giving it a go.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Get some fuel system cleaner through it

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ascot
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Would the fuel filter affect idle though

    Nick

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ascot
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by m8internet View Post
    Regen on a 2005?
    Is it an estate?

    See earlier replies, take the car to a mechanic with experience of the Y30DT or Z30DT (depending on which is fitted as 2005 was the changeover year) for full engine diagnostic
    It is known that some engine faults are not extreme enough to cause fault codes, so needs traditional diagnostic (hammer and spanner)
    It's a 06 Z30dt, that will re-gen won't it.

    Nick

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Elland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it's going into limp mode, it will have thrown a code, but a cheap reader may only be able to read 'engine' codes and not spanner ones. Not all codes cause a light to come on, but any time mine has gone into limp mode, the spanner light has come on.

    You need a diagnostic able to investigate all codes... maybe even get some live data whilst the car is being driven, especially if the fault is readily reproducable

  8. #8
    Regular Member BigWilko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Barnsley
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by s2yob View Post
    Would the fuel filter affect idle though

    Nick
    Well mine just seemed to be struggling to pull fuel through everywhere in the rev range. but mine was going into limp mode at 2000 revs at the worst point and was NOT throwing up a code.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ascot
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hebblemarine View Post
    If it's going into limp mode, it will have thrown a code, but a cheap reader may only be able to read 'engine' codes and not spanner ones. Not all codes cause a light to come on, but any time mine has gone into limp mode, the spanner light has come on.

    You need a diagnostic able to investigate all codes... maybe even get some live data whilst the car is being driven, especially if the fault is readily reproducable
    And this morning . . . . . All ok!!!!!! Aaaarrrrgghhhhhhh

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ascot
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigWilko View Post
    Well mine just seemed to be struggling to pull fuel through everywhere in the rev range. but mine was going into limp mode at 2000 revs at the worst point and was NOT throwing up a code.
    Wilko,
    What was wrong with urs?

    Nick

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. vectra gsi running rough misfires high idle
    By shaunft in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 9th August 2012, 23:03
  2. vec 1.9 150 running weird
    By n8sby in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16th January 2012, 23:56
  3. z20net lumpy idle running rough
    By tomo41 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th July 2011, 23:06
  4. 1.9 CDTI Lumpy Running at Idle
    By Dazfoz in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th April 2009, 18:23
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st July 2008, 15:29

Visitors found this page by searching for:

https:www.vectra-c.comforumshowthread.php148150-3-0-V6-weird-running-amp-idlepage2

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •