User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Hybrid Turbo question

  1. #1
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Hybrid Turbo question

    Now i am coming to the end of the list of what i want to do to my car, and after a few bits to do cosmetically i want to do a little to engine.

    I am interested in a hybrid turbo, however i do have a few q's which i hope someone can help (more than likely nutron!)

    1. if i was to buy myself a 2nd hand turbo to be upgraded, does it have to be fully functional? i.e if i buy one that requires new bearings for example, would turbo technics replace these as part of the hybrid process?

    2. Once fitted will it have to be tech2'd to the car?

    3. Will anything else have to be upgraded like the intercooler (which i would probably do anyway)

    4. would i be better off ditching the dtuk box once its on?

    This wouldnt be happening for about 6 months anyway, but i want to start putting some dosh away to get it done

    Any help would be great

    Paul

  2. #2
    Regular Member nutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Central England
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : very

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : Nosey

    Default

    The Turbo requires no matching to the car (Tech2) as there is nothing electrical on it.

    Bearing replacement would be done as standard when upgrading but if the turbo is damage then it might be unusable.

    The ones I am flogging are £500 with a 52mm compressor. I recomend running no more than 28psi as the MAP sensor tops out at about 29psi and then you could have issues with uncontrolled overboost.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    MILTON KEYNES
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nutron View Post
    The Turbo requires no matching to the car (Tech2) as there is nothing electrical on it.

    Bearing replacement would be done as standard when upgrading but if the turbo is damage then it might be unusable.

    The ones I am flogging are £500 with a 52mm compressor. I recomend running no more than 28psi as the MAP sensor tops out at about 29psi and then you could have issues with uncontrolled overboost.
    How do you set it to 28psi max?

  4. #4
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    312 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    With a boost controller I'd imagine
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  5. #5
    Regular Member peadar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    in the glens of Antrim N Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : ELITE

    Trim : FULL LEATHER

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI 150 BHP

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 87,000

    Default

    is there any thing like this available for the 2.2 dti

  6. #6
    Regular Member Innes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Plymouth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think the DTI boost sensor is a little sensitive but id be interested to know if it could be done to a DTI.

  7. #7
    Regular Member nutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Central England
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : very

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : Nosey

    Default

    You would either need a remap it set it up or a boost gauge and a tuning box that adjusts boost too. If you do nothing but fit the Hybrid turbo, it will run standard boost.

    The 2.2 DTI has a GT1849 and could also be upgraded but I do not know what your MAP sensor range is (I would have thought the same still).

  8. #8
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    cheers for the advice, i best get saving!!

    i am only running a dtuk box at the moment, ill either have to swap/sell it for a crd-t, or get rid all together and get a remap

    ill probably also upgrade intercooler as a precaution

    cheers again nutron

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    As Nutron says, just fitting a hybrid turbo without doing anything else will return very little gains, if any at all really. Hybrids come into their own with a remap, engine rework, better induction etc.
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Hybrid Turbo
    By toughmat in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 1st May 2013, 17:16
  2. Hybrid turbo here we come!
    By Telly Addict in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 3rd September 2012, 21:52
  3. For Sale: 2.0t hybrid turbo
    By sberrow in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th May 2012, 15:30
  4. Hybrid turbo
    By R2XPT in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 28th January 2012, 21:05
  5. Turbo Technics Hybrid turbo details.
    By nutron in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 28th February 2011, 22:57

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c 2.2 dti hybrid turbo

vectra 2.2 sri dti turbo upgrade

zafira dti hybrid turbo

vectra 2.2 dti turbo upgrade

vectra c y22dtr hybrid turbo

opel vectra 2.2 dti turbo upgrade

2.2 dti vectra hybrid turbo

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •