User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: cost of replacing injector seals ?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Question cost of replacing injector seals ?

Hi, I have a problem with my veccy 2.0dti, i think its the injector seals, i need to find a garage that will do it for me, whats an acceptable price to pay?
    Ideally situated near coventry/nuneaton.

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

BUMP!

Any idea on cost? Just serviced my 2.0 DTi Signum and the fuel filter was black and sticky with oil, so I'm guessing injector seals have gone. Also, have previoulsy had starting issues when parked facing uphill, so probably need to do the leak off pipes whilst in that area.

Is it a job to try myself? I'm no mechanic but fine doing basic jobs like servicing etc. Just wondering what cost of parts is likely to be vs cost of garage or even dealers doing for me.

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Also, would the injector seals leaking cause any long term damage?
    I'm thinking of the fragile fuel pump naturally.
    I'm thinking having engine oil in the pump is either really good for it, from a lubrication POV, or really bad as in it may make the pump more likely to fail?
    I've read the thread on here about using two stroke oil in the fuel, so I'm guessing its not the end of the world.
    Would leaking injector seals effect mpg in anyway? That has taken a dive lately, from 50-55 down to 39-42, hence the service. Seems better after a service (and clean fuel filter) but after calculated new mpg yet as only done 50 miles.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

duplicate post deleted
    Last edited by Boz657; 18th January 2012 at 15:04. Reason: duplicate post

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned