User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: ******* Windows :@

  1. #1
    Regular Member Tam80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dundee-Motherwell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default ******* Windows :@

    was listening to a few tunes earlier on the lappy..all was fine..then started to get the msg...

    Your computer is running low on memory. Quit other programs, and then try again.

    have googled and tried umpteen things but no joy as yet...even after a re-boot...getting this msg straight away

    anybody any ideas on this ?

    windows 7 x 64

    cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member Tam80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dundee-Motherwell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    just downloaded vlc player..still the same

    so its a windows problem and not a media player prob

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    salisbury
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    On memory or virtual memory ? At a guess I'd have a look at your ram you can get a free program to test but I can't remember the name how much ram should you have in thier how old is the laptop

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : z

    Trim : z

    Engine : z

    Year : z

    Default

    If it's Windows 7 x64, the laptop will be fairly new I guess.

    How much RAM is in the machine?

  5. #5
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    its virtual memory where your problem is
    you need to get to advanced system settings type it in when you click the windows button on bottom left of screen then go to proformance then 2nd tab along to advanced their you will see virtual memory click change go to custom size and ajust it mines on 4000 to 8000 then click set then ok you might have to restart
    this info was for windows 7 if your running vista or xp in box me i will send you details on how to change

  6. #6
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 6009tristanb View Post
    its virtual memory where your problem is
    you need to get to advanced system settings type it in when you click the windows button on bottom left of screen then go to proformance then 2nd tab along to advanced their you will see virtual memory click change go to custom size and ajust it mines on 4000 to 8000 then click set then ok you might have to restart
    this info was for windows 7 if your running vista or xp in box me i will send you details on how to change
    you shouldn't really need to be changing this as windows will adjust this automatically.. Ideally you dont want to be paging to virtual memory as it's hard disk based and slows the pc down (although windows will page no matter how much ram you seem to put in it).

    How long has the pc been running normally before this happened? Have you installed anything recently as you could be seeing a program leaking memory.

    As others have said, how much ram do you have in it?

    Edit: Just IMHO

  7. #7
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lofty View Post
    you shouldn't really need to be changing this as windows will adjust this automatically.. Ideally you dont want to be paging to virtual memory as it's hard disk based and slows the pc down (although windows will page no matter how much ram you seem to put in it).

    How long has the pc been running normally before this happened? Have you installed anything recently as you could be seeing a program leaking memory.

    As others have said, how much ram do you have in it?

    depends what type of laptop he has most are set to auto ajust but it still make your computer slow because if you notice it normanly ajust the virtual memory to a little less thats needed so on start up where you need it the most programs start to drag untill it all catches up
    but in the last 2 week i have had in the latest sony vaio and this wasnt set to auto ajust from new and also ive just bought the wife a packard bell brand new out of the box this too wasnt set to auto ajust
    but i have a feeling the op is running xp as this was never set from new to auto ajust i always reset xp to run 1000min to 4000max and that seems to solve all problems
    also you can still run windows on the minium of ram it just runs slow this message comes up most people think its the ram but its the virtual memory where the fault is

  8. #8
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default

    Virtual memory in windows has always been poor, also if it's vista then superfetch isn't the best service to have running either as that likes to eat memory.

  9. #9
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lofty View Post
    Virtual memory in windows has always been poor, also if it's vista then superfetch isn't the best service to have running either as that likes to eat memory.

    odds on now you would of lost half the forum for beeing to tech
    you got to remember he was only listening to music so odds on he just had a few too many things happening this is why it will be easy for him to adjust virtual memory just basics he needs by the sounds of it just to help his laptop along he could go down the expensive route and pile aload of memory in it but this would be a waste the question just sounds a simple one ajust the virtual memory great for normal users who just want to do a few things
    it doesnt nessary mean he has loaded something different on it could be something simple like its done more updates each time windows updates ive noticed it uses slightly more espically with computers with not much memory to start with

  10. #10
    Regular Member MysteryElite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North Somerset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Could be worth checking for available disk space - if there isn't enough areas available to allocate to Virtual Memory on the disk when Windows want's it then you could start getting issues (on automatic allocation).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Its doing my nut in (windows)
    By scotty84 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 15th January 2011, 14:39
  2. Windows 7
    By steve1975l in forum General Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 17th June 2009, 16:33
  3. Windows Wipers and Windows Washers
    By kevrod79 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th February 2009, 09:58
  4. Do your windows go down on their own???
    By Pepsi Max in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 5th February 2009, 22:27
  5. dvd,windows,help.
    By wernham in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th May 2008, 23:23

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •