User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wireless problem

  1. #1
    Regular Member Tam80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dundee-Motherwell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Wireless problem

    the wee man has tried to connect his ipod up to the modem (wireless)

    tried it myself..after putting in network key..after a few seconds it says "unable to connect" to blah de blah...

    any ideas ?

    cheers peeps

  2. #2
    Regular Member nick-v2.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Nottingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    try turning your modem off then back on

  3. #3
    Regular Member armoured farmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    "Where the WIFE tells me", but mainly in the DOG HOUSE....
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    firewall, try turnin it off to connect, but remember to turn back on again....

  4. #4
    Regular Member puppet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    East Ayrshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    1
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia 1.8 SRi

    Trim : VX Line Red

    Engine : 1.8VVT

    Year : 2011

    Default

    Also watch the type of encryption in use on the router (ie. WEP or WPA etc), or if you have changed the network password.

    Reason being, if the ipod has previously been used on the network, and either the encryption type or the password have been changed, you'll probably have to "forget" the network on the iPod and then re-add it as it will be remembering the old settings.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My mate had a problem the oother day. tried connecting hi palstation and his Ipod with wep. That will not work wpa is the only thing that will work.

  6. #6
    Regular Member john506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    WEP sucks don't use WEP encryption.

    I can crack a WEP key easily with Backtrack and limited knowledge!

  7. #7
    Regular Member UltraVec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dublin
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you still can't gain access then check the back of your modem 4 the original network key, if its there then use the full reset button on the modem and re connect with the network key on the modem.
    Once setup, change it all.
    can try gaining access to your routers setup by http://127.0.0.1

    Also as above change Wep to WPA psk 2 preferably.
    Also hide your SSID(Name) from being broadcast.

    Hope it helps.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Big Knox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    127.0.0.1 is the loop back address for your PC. You'll need to do an ipconfig and look for the default gateway ip. That's usually your router.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Will probably find the routers address is more like 192.168.x.x

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless Lan
    By The Gas Man in forum General Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 13th March 2012, 08:02
  2. wireless adaptor 360
    By Dwabo in forum Games Room
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st November 2009, 14:37
  3. No wireless
    By garvey in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th December 2008, 23:37
  4. Wireless + Vista + Acer = Problem ... Help !!!
    By Bainie in forum General Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16th November 2007, 20:47
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th November 2006, 10:17

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •