User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: BC Functions

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northampton :-( How the hell did that happen ?!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default BC Functions

    Hi All -

    Sorry for this newbie question; I've scoured the forums on this topic and I think I know the answer but.... my stubborn brain is finding it kind of hard to believe :-)

    I've had a 2005 Veccy 1.9CDTi (120bhp) for about 3 months now - first Vauxhall I've ever owned so all the tricks and traps are new to me. It has the CD70 NAVI headunit with the large colour display; no worries there; but I'm really surprised at how feature-less the BC is. All I have is the Timer.

    I've seen a few threads here which suggest that the full feature set needs activating with Tech2... but is that normal ? My car is the 'Life' trim spec, which I think is the lowest of the low.... but it still seems a bit miserable of Vauxhall to have disabled even the most basic features like an MPG display, especially on a car which has satnav, aircon, cruise, etc etc.

    Even on a 'Life', is it actually the case that all necessary sensors and the loom etc are still fitted to the vehicle but just disabled in software ? I can see how this would be a cheap and easy way for Vauxhall to switch that stuff on, at a price, for the top of the line models, but I'm a bit worried that on mine the sensors might not even be fitted in the first place.

    Finally, is Tech2 the only way to tweak stuff on this car ? There's a load of visible info via Settings in 'test mode', any way to change any settings either via the head unit, or some other way ? I have to say - I've not been blown away thus far by my local Vauxhall Dealership.... asked them for a firmware update disc for the Navi unit, and received an International Languages CD lol..... so I'm not anxious to go down there and try to explain to them what I want doing to the BC. Are there any spurious bits of software out there that can do a similar job via a laptop and interface ?

    All advice really gratefully received !! Thanks all :-)

  2. #2
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    AFAIK BC function like trip computer and such was a add on extra that you paid for at dealers when ordering your car from new.

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  3. #3
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRI NAV XP

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI 150

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 72K

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigmac View Post
    AFAIK BC function like trip computer and such was a add on extra that you paid for at dealers when ordering your car from new.
    Correct. On the Vectra, only SRI, GSI, DESIGN, ELEGANCE, ELITE and VXR models have onboard Trip Computer as standard, extra cost option on all others, except EXPRESSION.
    Last edited by john_k_sri; 5th September 2011 at 11:17.

  4. #4
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    To be honest, the full BC isn't really that useful unless you're obsessive about fuel economy. Next to worthless on my Dual Fuel Elegance too, as I run on LPG all the time. The BC is driven off the petrol injector signal, so is totally inaccurate when running on LPG - so the only function that's any use is the Trip Distance, which I've already got on the speedo! I know I usually get 300 miles to a tank of LPG (£30), so just use the fuel gauge to give me an idea of range remaining.

    So you're not missing much...

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northampton :-( How the hell did that happen ?!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Gahhh... !! So it's my worst case scenario .. ?! Likely no sensors or loom, and no way to tweak the BC any further ?? Or - is ther elight on the horizon - is it potentially still doable via Tech2 ?

    Thanks guys for such prompt replies. Gutted though now... It does seem bizarre, like I said, the thing has the CD70 NAVI, plus cruise control, air con, etc... but can't tell me my MPG !!.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northampton :-( How the hell did that happen ?!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for that, Rich... sadly, I am one of those geeky types who loves to have those numbers flashing on the dash ! :-)

    I'm also a bit concerned about my MPG to be honest as I don't think it's up to scratch... I reckon I am getting about 38. Plus, I tow a camper with the Vectra and it's kind of interesting to keep an eye on consumption when towing, over long distances etc... things like 'Distance till Empty' are handy when you have a large trailer on the back and you'd rather not stop to fuel up... petrol station forecourts are not the best place to be in terms of threading it between other cars etc.

    Still, looks like I'd better get used to it, unless someone comes back to say there's still a Tech2 tweak possibility ?

    Cheers again

  7. #7
    Regular Member cossiejay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    burnley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : sri 150

    Engine : 1.9 cdti

    Year : 2007

    Default

    i would have thought all the sensors are there it just needed activating but unsure some one on here will tell u

  8. #8
    Regular Member lee gsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hampshire (Near Havant) . .Drives: Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi

    Year : 2005

    Default

    Only sensor not there will probably be the washer fluid sensor, Then get it activated with Tech2 or other Vauxhall type software.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northampton :-( How the hell did that happen ?!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks guys.

    So, you reckon I can just go down to my local dealership, tell then what I want, and (assuming they don't just stare at me blankly or pick up the phone to the nearest asylum).... they should be able to do it ?

    I mean - enabling the BC in this round-about kind of way does strike me as something that's a bit... well... probably not what Vauxhall would condone ?

    Also - any views, from experience or opinion, what this should cost ? I'm guessing it's 15 minutes max... ?

    Cheers once again, and thanks for all replies.

  10. #10
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Vauxhall don't make or sell the Vectra C any more. So what do they care?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Extra Functions
    By Ken072 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th July 2011, 22:37
  2. CD70 display & functions
    By RayR33 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th October 2009, 10:29
  3. Possible to extend functions on a Eberspächer?
    By fikse in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th July 2009, 21:11
  4. lost multifunction button functions
    By BESTuning in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st December 2007, 19:56

Visitors found this page by searching for:

How to alter settings on vectra cd70 trip computer when in test mode

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •