User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Pioneer unit help

  1. #1
    Regular Member johnmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Inverclyde
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Pioneer unit help

    Just bought a DEH-P6800MP unit from Ebay.3 months old.Seller specified "collection preferred" but will post but not accept returns.Got the unit today and tried to fit using the Vauxhall facia and adaptor kit.As most people will be aware that have changed their head unit,there is a 3 bit plug that connects to the existing Vauxhall connection,this then runs to 3 x seperate connectos.On the Pioneer connections it runs into 2 so when using the Vauxhall connector there is 1 x connector "free".Plugged the other 2 in but when I turn on the ignition,there is nothing from the unit.The fuse is ok and there is 12v.Have I done something wrong OR is the unit "duff"

    John.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SOUTH SHIELDS
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Mine did the same (jvc) had to swap two of the wires think it was ignition live and ground

  3. #3
    Regular Member Jamie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sometimes need to swap the red and yellow power cables round on Pioneer units. That might be whats up?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Try swapping the yellow and red around m8.

  5. #5
    Regular Member johnmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Inverclyde
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cheers Guys. That's what it was.Saved a really cheeky mail being sent to someone. One other question......Now that these wires are swapped,is there anything else to watch out for? Should the blue remain connected (remote)

  6. #6
    Regular Member Jamie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Having the blue connected powers the signal amplifier for the FM aerial... if you disconnect it you will get less reception on FM radio, the only plus with disconnecting it is it stops the date disappearing off the MFD when the radio is on.

  7. #7
    Regular Member johnmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Inverclyde
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Should I be able to turn the unit on,when wired up,without the key in the ignition.Had a quick go at checking the unit today (not fitted it permanently yet,didn't have time) and it seems that it won't function without the ignition (I'm assuming due to the red/yellow swap).Is this normal?

  8. #8
    Regular Member david-bell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    eastlothian scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    my pioneer is the same john i need the ignition on

  9. #9
    Regular Member Damian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Market Drayton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Jamie,

    When you say the blue wire do you mean the one that forms part of the aeriel plug. If I put my tester on it should this have a voltage across it to power the signal booster.

    Currently my reception is beyond poor and I am thinking that this may be the problem. Should it have 12v on it, if so I could connect it up to an ignition controlled circuit it it is currently not connected anywhere ??

    Cheers

  10. #10
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i've got my jvc unit to power up without the ignition being on.

    you need to connect both the yellow and the red wire from the headunit side to the yellow wire on the car wiring side. there should be bullet connectors to make this really easy.

    i take it all you have done is swap the yellow and red.

    check the installation manual but i'm pretty sure this is what you need to do to get it permanently powered

    let us know how you get on

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Insalling Pioneer*DEH-4200SD unit
    By Dane in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th January 2011, 01:41
  2. pioneer hd-unit
    By kenny1zero in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th June 2008, 20:59
  3. pioneer head unit
    By billyyoung in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th February 2008, 22:24
  4. Pioneer Head Unit
    By bluebirds1975 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd February 2007, 19:55
  5. pioneer dvd head unit
    By david-bell in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14th November 2005, 23:15

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •