User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Sat nav disc???

  1. #1
    Regular Member Guss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    West Malling, Kent
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Sat nav disc???

    hi.
    i have a vauxhall signum 3.0 v6 with built in sat nav.
    the nav system is the 2013..after some serious hunting i have bought what i am confident is the right disc but it keeps telling me to insert the disc even when inserted..is this a common fault?
    is there a cure/ fix...i hope so
    Guss

  2. #2
    Full Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    is this a map cd or the firmware cd?
    My old Signum, the animal; she now rests in pieces in several other members cars.. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=200
    The wifes vec show car, started as a standard daily driver and ended up like this. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=709



  3. #3
    Regular Member Guss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    West Malling, Kent
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    this is a map cd...what is the firmware cd?
    russ

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    and did the unit have a disc when you purchased it ? if so does that work??? if that does and the new one does not it would suggest that whay you may have been confident in ... is actaully wrong and might be for a cd70 unit ...

    do you have a part no or photo of the disc you purchased with any reference no's on it ??

    also the new navteq discs require a firmware update to work with the older units

    from their website
    "
    This product will not function in your navigation system until the system has been updated with the enclosed software CD.
    Please ensure the software update is fully completed before attempting to insert any of the map CDs contained in this package. Failure to comply with this instruction may cause severe damage to the navigation unit, which will require the services of an authorized Opel dealer.
    Once the software update has been executed, please do not use previous (older) versions of the Opel NCDR/NCDC."

    so have you mullered it as well ???
    Last edited by Deztroyer; 24th August 2011 at 13:40.

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  5. #5
    Regular Member Guss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    West Malling, Kent
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    wow thanks deztroyer..right firstly i had no disc in the car when i purchased the car...the disc i boought had no software disc with it .
    the disc i have bought is great britan / ireland with major roads of europe version 2009/2010
    source ign 2009 - bd topo....blah blah t1000 - 16211..
    knowing my luck i have mullered it..

  6. #6
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If i was you Guss, before you get too involved in the unit might be worth contacting the previous owner and establishing if the unit did/was working ... there is no reason why they would take a disc out of an older car to sell on unless they purchased a car with the same make/type of unit ...

    then dependant on what they say ...

    1, if its faulty = try and source a replacement that has been divorced so it can be paired to a new car ..
    2, if its ok - source a firmware disc (they cost around a tenner) and try flashing the unit

    3, see if there is anyone else close to you with a ncdc2013 with a working unit that may be able to lend you their disc to see if thats workign to rule out the other possibility that the disc you have purchased is duff ..

    where did you get your disc from ??

    regards

    Dez

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  7. #7
    Regular Member Guss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    West Malling, Kent
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default nav dsic

    hi dez..
    i bought my disc from a navteq distributer from german ebay.
    sadly my friend who has anything similar uses the cd70 system..
    i have had no luck trying o get the disc from the previous owner as it was a trade in..had i have known i would have said something to the dealer.
    how would one flash this unit if it was working..
    i am quitye happy to purchase the firmware for a tenner if you could point me in the right direction?

  8. #8
    Regular Member armoured farmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    "Where the WIFE tells me", but mainly in the DOG HOUSE....
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cud u not borrow the firmware disc from some1 on here who has the same unit, flash the system and return it to them ,then try yor map disc, as only the map disc stays in the nav....just a thought..

  9. #9
    Regular Member Guss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    West Malling, Kent
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    that would be cool..if someone has a firmware disc i could borrow

  10. #10
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As Armoured Farmer said ...someone MAY have the firmware disc as its a one off use then its pretty redundant ... as its done its job ...

    you should be able to order one from Vauxhall ... or try Navteq

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. sat nav disc
    By GSi-Col in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th January 2010, 23:24
  2. nav disc & 4 disc cartridge
    By rorycarz in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th June 2008, 22:01
  3. Sat Nav Disc.
    By NOODLES in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th May 2007, 22:27

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •