User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Dodgey Graphic Info Display

  1. #1
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Unhappy Dodgey Graphic Info Display

    Time for me to ask the electronics people a relatively obvious question..

    I have a GID in my Cavalier (I know, I Know) fitted to a CD70 Navi.
    The Cav has been laid up for 9 weeks, whilst I replaced my worn out engine.
    Up until now the GID and Head-unit have worked spot on.(It was the first sat nav system from the wife's Vectra-C - I bought her another one complete with a CID a few years ago)

    The problem I have is that the top HALF of my display has stopped working!!

    The bottom half is okay, but the top half just appears to be blacked out.
    If I squint close up to the display, I can still see the symbols and graphics.

    From memory, the display's screen has a double layer... one layer limits the amount of light allowed to pass through the display.
    The second layer is the actual graphics.

    Now I know the LED's in the top half are still working, as I can see the glow through the cooling slats in the top of the surround.

    So my problem appears to be a connection to the illumination limiting layer of the screen or it is totally kapputt.

    Am I looking at another replacement screen in the display, or is it likely to be as simple as a dirty / dry joint to the screen contacts.

    Don't really want to have to buy another display, just for the sake of swapping the screen again.

    Any ideas - please.?

    Also - does anyone have a display going super cheap.. not worried if you have fried the LED circuitryor anything, as I will be just disconnecting the display screen from the rest of the assembly (mine is a full CAN unit with Alpha code DD ).
    Last edited by Robsey; 15th August 2011 at 01:24.

  2. #2
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Firstly, pictures.
    Then, when is the last time known working and what happen just right before it's faulty?
    From your description, I guess the LCD panel is still working (because you still see the graphics when looking closely), just doggy connections.

    Worth open the screen and see what's inside

  3. #3
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Hi I have litterally done nothing with the screen for the last 9 weeks.

    The car was stood on the car-park behind my house, whilst I was fitting a new engine.

    I have run the car a few times (to check that the engine and it's loom, sensors etc were all fine) over the past few weeks. and there was nothing wrong whatsoever.

    I turned the car on yesterday after repairing my wiper mechanism and fitting a new fuel injection pump.

    The radio etc all works perfect, just the top half of the screen is blank.

    I assume that damp has got into the connection somewhere, or a solder joint has gone dry..

    I will get a picture up later, when I get back home.

  4. #4
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It could be a dry solder joint on the pcb and the top LEDs aren't lighting up. Or it could be an LCD fault. But you won't know until you take it apart and have a look.

    There's a HOW2 on here about changing the GID LEDs which nicely shows how to take it apart and what the pcb looks like.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Ademusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dunstable
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    As mentioned above mate, may as well dismantle and have a look, no good as it is anyway. If the screen is goosed may be able to get a replacement on ebay and just swap the screen over so you won't need to code it, but having never opened one up I don't know how easy that would be.

  6. #6
    Full Member Niall83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have a GID full canbus screen paired to my CDC40. That I'm not using. I just need to get my CDC40 paired with the CID screen I have. I've the pass code for the GID and CDC40 as its the orignal from my car. The CID and CD70 are from a breakers and in my car at the min.
    AirBox Mod-Angel Eye head lights-HID 5000k-Colour coded grill-GID to CID-Auto Dim rear view Mirror, Rear Parking Sensors, Signum Fog surrounds, 19" Audi A5 rep Alloys, Eibach 30mm Pro-kit Lowering Springs.

  7. #7
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Hi All,

    Thanks for the replies - yes it does appear to be a loose / dodgey connection. - Phew a nice simple fix for a change

    I managed to get the top half of the screen to work, by pressing the surround bezel towards the display screen, although with the vibrations of travelling, it did go off again every now and again.

    Looks like I will be pulling my GID out on sunday, and giving it a good going over

    Again thanks for the advice and replies

  8. #8
    Full Member Niall83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Good stuff Rosbey, glad your getting sortted.
    AirBox Mod-Angel Eye head lights-HID 5000k-Colour coded grill-GID to CID-Auto Dim rear view Mirror, Rear Parking Sensors, Signum Fog surrounds, 19" Audi A5 rep Alloys, Eibach 30mm Pro-kit Lowering Springs.

  9. #9
    Regular Member duncmill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Glad your Cavaliers back on the road and your screen sorted, if you can't fix it know one can lol.

  10. #10
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Hi all,

    Just a minor update..

    I have been driving the Cav for a week now, and the Display has been a bit hit and miss...
    So I finally dismantled it today..
    The hardest bit was getting the surround out of my central dash panel... a lot more awkward than the wife's vectra-C

    So took the layers out of the casing.. there isn't much in there really..

    A PCB layer, that has a big fixed plastic plug and a smaller two pin plug that connects to the LED layer (39 LED version panel).
    The LED layer is connected to the LCD dual layer panel by two ribbon cables.

    and that's it.
    so all the solder joints looked okay - clean and shiney.
    all the components looked okay too. no scorch marks or anything obvious..

    Then I noticed that one of the ribbon cables had a loose clamp bar.
    So I undid, and then reconnected all the connectors, including the ribbon cables..
    and then ensured that both clamp bars were securely fitted.

    Tested, and we now have a fully working display.

    Excellent, makes the sat-nav so much better when you can see all of the information on the screen.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Info Display (??)
    By JustChris in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th December 2012, 11:52
  2. Replacing Board Info Display (BID) with Color Info display (CID)
    By grigs1 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 11th April 2012, 22:13
  3. graphic/colour display
    By kevs sxi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th August 2006, 22:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •