User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: CD30 and basic display upgrade to CD40 and Trip or CD70 SatNav.

  1. #1
    New Member bulks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bracknell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused CD30 and basic display upgrade to CD40 and Trip or CD70 SatNav.


    Ok, I realise this has been done to death, pretty much all over the internet, a Google of the subject title shows me that clearly.

    I am a Microsoft engineer by trade, I am just not “Car Savvy”, I have upgraded head units in cars before, but not to this degree, I have found plenty on the subject, but not enough to convince me that it’s relevant to my Vectra Model, I just need (being a techie) some clarification on what I now believe to be the situation from all the sources I have read.

    I hope to god I’m not about to make a total prat of myself, but I am trying to show a willingness to understand

    So....I have the following.

    · A Vectra C 2007 VVT Life
    · CD30 fitted with basic 2 line screen, showing temp, clock and Radio Station CD/Info.
    · I have 2x jog wheels on my Steering Wheel, one either side.
    · I have been led to believe this is a full canbus system.

    What I do know, and believe to be true from what I have read.

    · I need to (preferably) get a pair, a CD unit and screen that have been pulled from the same vehicle, regardless of whether it’s a CD40 or CD70.

    If a CD40 with trip
    · I need to make sure that I have the right connection in my car, I should be looking for a yellow cable behind that dash that will connect to the trip screen.
    · I might not have all the sensors installed in my car, some may need to be fitted.
    · Cables between the headunit and trip might need to be replaced.
    · I might need to fit a new wiper stalk ?

    If a CD70 with SatNav

    I have been told this unit has a trip computer built in as well as the SatNav, can someone please confirm? If this is true, and in addition to the above I will also;

    · Need to get a half decent gps antenna (on ebay for about £10, fakra has been suggested as a good make)
    · I will need to connect the bespoke VGA connection cable between the headunit and the screen.

    With either a CD40 or CD70 and in addition to the above for each model.
    · Once the units have been connected and installed successfully the trip computer will need to be configured via a “Tech2” engineer to be correctly calibrated to my car.

    I live in Bracknell, Berkshire, so I could be looking for a Tech2 engineer to help me out if everything else can be sourced and fitted without too much of a problem, I would of course be happy to pay the going rate.
    So that’s what I know or at least “think” I know, as I said, I’m not Car Savvy, so I hope that I am not too wide of the mark, and please do your best not to flame me for being non car savvy



  2. #2
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    So....I have the following.

    · A Vectra C 2007 VVT Life
    · CD30 fitted with basic 2 line screen, showing temp, clock and Radio Station CD/Info.
    · I have 2x jog wheels on my Steering Wheel, one either side.
    · I have been led to believe this is a full canbus system.

    What I do know, and believe to be true from what I have read.

    · I need to (preferably) get a pair, a CD unit and screen that have been pulled from the same vehicle, regardless of whether it’s a CD40 or CD70.

    YES - all Vectra's and Signum's with the scroller controls are Full CAN, but you can actually retro fit the "scrollers" to the half-CAN vehicles. Vehicles from October 2004 onward are Full CAN..
    TRUE !! A Paired set is easier to install.. but to be on the safe side I would get the audio pass code with the paired units anyway.

    If as you say later, that you want the whole thing programming into your car, then you may as well get it divorced, and then re-married into your car.

    But saying that, you do not need to pair to your car, to program the various settings.

    If a CD40 with trip
    · I need to make sure that I have the right connection in my car, I should be looking for a yellow cable behind that dash that will connect to the trip screen.

    Nope it is the same grey 32 pin connector for the Display
    The Trip component is programmed into the display - not the CDC40 head-unit.

    I would avoid ALL YELLOW CABLES, as these are your AIRBAG circuits.

    Yellow connectors are in the very early Vectra-A (Cavalier) and Vectra-B vehicles.

    The only change in wiring, may be to ensure that you have brown wires to pins 1 and 2 of the display (ground)
    and red wires on both pins 3 and 5 of the display (Battery live on fuse F26). Some early TID's only had one of each colour.

    · I might not have all the sensors installed in my car, some may need to be fitted.
    All the sensors will be present for the Board Computer (Fuel Computer).

    Only optional extras like tyre pressure monitoring are NOT fitted.

    You may be getting confused with Check Control, in which case you will not have the window wash fluid resevoir sender switch.

    · Cables between the headunit and trip might need to be replaced.

    No the existing wiring is fine - see my comment about red and brown wires above.

    · I might need to fit a new wiper stalk ?
    That is only on half CANbus vehicles upto September 2004. - so no, not on yours.

    If a CD70 with SatNav

    I have been told this unit has a trip computer built in as well as the SatNav, can someone please confirm? If this is true, and in addition to the above I will also;

    Trip computer is available in the DISPLAYs, not the head unit.. Any display except the one with the clock buttons in the Bezel can have BC function.

    Your CD30 could have the trip computer, if you get a Display without the clock buttons paired up to it.

    · Need to get a half decent gps antenna (on ebay for about £10, fakra has been suggested as a good make)

    Fakra is the connector style - a reasonable make is Tera, and a specification I use is for a VW / Audi GPS system... as you say, approx £10 from the bay. - put in "Fakra GPS VW" for your e-bay search.

    · I will need to connect the bespoke VGA connection cable between the headunit and the screen.

    If you are getting a matching CD70 and Colour screen, then yes you need the RGB cable to go with it... if you are getting a GID (Orange graphic screen) then the RGB cable is not needed, as there are no maps on the orange screen.

    Regarding the screen, you need to ensure you have the correct vent surround for your car and display - facelift colour screens are widescreen...pre-facelift are not.

    With either a CD40 or CD70 and in addition to the above for each model.
    · Once the units have been connected and installed successfully the trip computer will need to be configured via a “Tech2” engineer to be correctly calibrated to my car.

    The DISPLAY may need to be programmed to match your car's specification.
    as follows: -
    Diesel / Petrol
    With / without board computer
    With / without check control
    with / without Ice crystal warning
    with air con or electronic climate control

    Also as an extra -
    The CDC40 is more complex, if you try to fit it with an optional DAB unit.
    You will require a link loom and a suitable DAB aerial, and more Tech 2 programming. - Standard Screen is the Orange Graphic Screen.

  3. #3
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    I would offer to do this but u r a bit far away lol done a few of the ncdc conversations but non in a facelift would of liked to have a bash at this one
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  4. #4
    New Member bulks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bracknell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Rob, thank you very much for your comprehensive response, it’s really been a great help. I think I will end up going for the cdc70 at the moment if I can find one at a good price.
    Otherwise, I’ll go for a CDC40 (without DAB), then I can just get a TomTom installed and used in both my own and my partners car.
    I have a few questions from your responses though if you have the time to respond.
    If as you say later, that you want the whole thing programming into your car, then you may as well get it divorced, and then re-married into your car.

    But saying that, you do not need to pair to your car, to program the various settings.

    All I would want is what you mention later in your response, the trip programmed via tech2, slightly confused if I would need to have the unit divorced and re-married to accomplish this? If so would this be done via Tech2 also ?

    I would avoid ALL YELLOW CABLES, as these are your AIRBAG circuits.

    Haha, told you I wasn’t terribly car savvy ! thanks for pointing that out


    The only change in wiring, may be to ensure that you have brown wires to pins 1 and 2 of the display (ground)
    and red wires on both pins 3 and 5 of the display (Battery live on fuse F26). Some early TID's only had one of each colour.

    That’s useful info, I think I can manage that bit without too much hassle

    All the sensors will be present for the Board Computer (Fuel Computer).

    Only optional extras like tyre pressure monitoring are NOT fitted.

    You may be getting confused with Check Control, in which case you will not have the window wash fluid resevoir sender switch.

    Yep, I was getting confused with Check Control, my last Vauxhall was a Astra Sports with full Fuel Comp and check control. I have to admit to growing accustomed (having had the car for 8 years) to being told when a bulb had gone, my oil was low, washers were low etc…. will check control work? Guessing it needs tech2’ing ?
    Trip computer is available in the DISPLAYs, not the head unit.. Any display except the one with the clock buttons in the Bezel can have BC function.

    Your CD30 could have the trip computer, if you get a Display without the clock buttons paired up to it.

    I have a BC button on my CD30, but the display says “NO FUNCTION” when pressed, Im not sure what you mean when you say that I could get a Display without the clock buttons paired, does that mean I could just get a replacement full display screen and hook it up, without having to replace the CD30 ? If so that would be my preffered option, but not sure If I have understood what you typed !
    Regarding the screen, you need to ensure you have the correct vent surround for your car and display - facelift colour screens are widescreen...pre-facelift are not.
    Ok, that makes sense, a lot of what I am seeing for sale come with the vent surround, I am presuming that as long as it’s a Vec C 2007+ spare it will be ok, or would say a Vec C 2006 one be okay and fit ?


    The DISPLAY may need to be programmed to match your car's specification.
    as follows: -
    Diesel / Petrol
    With / without board computer
    With / without check control
    with / without Ice crystal warning
    with air con or electronic climate control

    OK, this Tech2’ing bit could be a stumbling block, as I presume it’s a complex task ? Or in need of specialist equipment? Is there anyone on the forums that is tech to capable in the Berkshire area you know of?
    How will I know if the Display needs to be programmed ? Will it just not work ? or show dud info, or come up with the “No Function” message that I am currently getting ?
    Thanks again
    Richard

  5. #5
    New Member bulks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bracknell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulvectrac View Post
    I would offer to do this but u r a bit far away lol done a few of the ncdc conversations but non in a facelift would of liked to have a bash at this one
    Its only 250 miles....

    lol

    Dont worry, I appreciate what your saying if morecambe wasnt so far away, i'd be tempted to come to you.

  6. #6
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Ha lol well i will do some research see what I can find out and post up what u would need to do in detail for u matey
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  7. #7
    New Member bulks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bracknell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulvectrac View Post
    Ha lol well i will do some research see what I can find out and post up what u would need to do in detail for u matey
    Magic, thanks a bundle. Really appreciated. Any computer issues you get sling them my way !

  8. #8
    New Member bulks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bracknell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Looking hopeful that I may have found a very local tech2 over on vxronline

  9. #9
    Regular Member ditchp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The world famous city ground
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra cdti estate

    Trim : Get a

    Engine : Dirty diesel

    Year : 2006

    Default

    if it's any help i have recently fitted a CDC40 opera and screen into my 05 plate full CanBus car, it took me about 20 mins to do the entire swap and was just plug and play
    Midlands Mod Shop - NFFC.

  10. #10
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    All I would want is what you mention later in your response, the trip programmed via tech2, slightly confused if I would need to have the unit divorced and re-married to accomplish this? If so would this be done via Tech2 also ?

    Yes this is done via Tech 2 or Op-Com.

    Yep, I was getting confused with Check Control, my last Vauxhall was a Astra Sports with full Fuel Comp and check control. I have to admit to growing accustomed (having had the car for 8 years) to being told when a bulb had gone, my oil was low, washers were low etc…. will check control work? Guessing it needs tech2’ing ?

    Yep, Check control will work, but you need the washer fluid level switch fitting, or the plug pins shorting together to stop the message coming on every time you start the car. This is programmed via Tech 2 or Op-Com in the Variance Configuration Programming menu.

    I have a BC button on my CD30, but the display says “NO FUNCTION” when pressed, Im not sure what you mean when you say that I could get a Display without the clock buttons paired, does that mean I could just get a replacement full display screen and hook it up, without having to replace the CD30 ? If so that would be my preffered option, but not sure If I have understood what you typed !

    Basically - Check Control and Board Computer can be enabled in any of the full size screens (without the clock buttons).
    Yes you could pair either a BID (Board Info Display) or GID (Graphic Info Display) to your CD30 and this would allow the BC functions to work.

    Only the TID (triple Info Display) is unable to offer the BC function.. hence your display's comment.

    Ok, that makes sense, a lot of what I am seeing for sale come with the vent surround, I am presuming that as long as it’s a Vec C 2007+ spare it will be ok, or would say a Vec C 2006 one be okay and fit ?

    Yes anything (approximately) from very late 2005 / early 2006 onward will be suitable - you need to specify face-lift Vectra / Signum display. or identified as MY06 or MJ06. (meaning model year 2006) or later.

    OK, this Tech2’ing bit could be a stumbling block, as I presume it’s a complex task ? Or in need of specialist equipment? Is there anyone on the forums that is tech to capable in the Berkshire area you know of?
    How will I know if the Display needs to be programmed ? Will it just not work ? or show dud info, or come up with the “No Function” message that I am currently getting ?


    For the BC function, you may need to program the correct Code Index number for your vehicle into the Display.

    If BC is enabled but set incorrectly, then your range and fuel consumption figures will be miles out.
    If BC is not enabled, then you will only have a stopwatch when you press bc.
    Only the TID will display "No Function"

    For Check control, you program the variance configuration in the Underhood Electrical Centre.

    Extra Comment -
    Choice of head unit depends upon what you want.

    CD30 is the cheapest option if you just wish to buy a display.

    CDC40 will give the best sound reproduction out of all Vauxhall Vectra-C head units.

    CDC40 has a CD multi-changer and better on-board sound processor / equaliser.

    CD70 will give maps or direction symbols for navigation - dependent upon which display is with it.

    CD70 and CD30 mp3 are both capable of playing CD's with mp3 burnt upon them
    Last edited by Robsey; 22nd July 2011 at 02:24.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrade CD30 to CD70 or go for aftermarket?
    By saggybelly in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 25th February 2013, 19:51
  2. Retro fitting a CD70 upgrade from CD30
    By Steven T Davies-Moss in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 21st March 2010, 22:46
  3. This May Help Someone - CD70 Navi won't display my satnav maps or graphics..
    By Ademusic in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st January 2010, 01:12
  4. CD70 colour screen display same stuff as basic one?
    By MCD in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th March 2009, 16:51
  5. No meters/feet with satnav voice after fw upgrade cd70
    By Peabrain in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 30th January 2009, 21:19

Visitors found this page by searching for:

can you fit cd 40 and screen in cd30 astra

cd70 navi to replace cd30

cd30 to cd70 navi update

corsa cd30 replace with sat nav

Vectra display. No function

vectra cd30 to cd70

does a zafira b 2005 have built in sat nav

how do i get the bc to work on a cd70 navi

cd30 player fails to load on zafira with bassic display

zafira b satnav

zafira board info display size

cd30 screen upgrade

change cd30 to cd70

vectra c 2005 onwards cd30 upgrade cd40

how do i know if cd30 has multi-changer socket

zafira b cd30

cd30 upgrade

cd40 upgrade

change the CD30 for the CD70

can i retro fit a cd 40 into a zafira b

fitting trip computer to vectra c

cd30 bc no function

cd70 zafira b

whatcan replace a vauxhall astra display screen above cd

vectra b satnav

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •