User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: 3.2 gsi sparkplug gap

  1. #1
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default 3.2 gsi sparkplug gap

    im sure its been asked loads of times but i carnt find the thread
    i fitted denso ik20 plugs a few week ago but forgot to set the gap does anyone know what size it needs to be for a 3.2 v6 as going away next friday so going to give the car a mini service to make sure its all fine for the 5 hour drive

  2. #2
    Regular Member TimTay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BRECHIN
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i thought all plugs came already set now adays, great to learn something new

    how you getting on with them? notice and improvement like smother running and such like?

  3. #3
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimTay View Post
    i thought all plugs came already set now adays, great to learn something new

    how you getting on with them? notice and improvement like smother running and such like?

    tons better they had them 4 spark boosh in them and it had a flat spot and seemed to be missing slightly when it was booted didnt pick up till 3500rpm now picks up at 2500rpm but the car seems to rev easier
    but ive noticed a big difference on moterway seems faster and smoother

    the plugs might be preset i didnt think they were but if it turns out that they dont need setting up ive saved me self ahour and half worth of work

  4. #4
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Are you sure they were the bosch super 4's? as the vx plugs look very similar
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  5. #5
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    Are you sure they were the bosch super 4's? as the vx plugs look very similar

    still got them in tool box they are
    bosch super 481 r6
    thats what it says on the plug either way im a hater of bosch always had problems with them years ago on fords so always change them if my new car has them normaly go for ngk but i sore a thread about denso ik20 and 22 so thought give them a go

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Multi electrode plugs don't need the gaps adjusting. They come preset and trying to adjust the gaps could resort in premature wear of them.

  7. #7
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 6009tristanb View Post
    still got them in tool box they are
    bosch super 481 r6
    thats what it says on the plug either way im a hater of bosch always had problems with them years ago on fords so always change them if my new car has them normaly go for ngk but i sore a thread about denso ik20 and 22 so thought give them a go
    Sounds painful

    iirc thats what was written on mine, changed them at 80k as they had not ever been done! (as far as I know) Pretty sure thats what was on the new vx ones too. Not saying they are any good mind you.

    If you get a better result from your new plugs
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  8. #8
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Dave View Post
    Multi electrode plugs don't need the gaps adjusting. They come preset and trying to adjust the gaps could resort in premature wear of them.

    its a denso ik20 iridium power plug a single electrode

    on this site on another thread it was said that the multi electrode plugs are no good for the 3.2 as the spark gets blown out
    this was another reason why i changed them as well as a slight misfire and the fact that they were bosch

  9. #9
    Regular Member 6009tristanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    bispham, blackpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    Sounds painful

    iirc thats what was written on mine, changed them at 80k as they had not ever been done! (as far as I know) Pretty sure thats what was on the new vx ones too. Not saying they are any good mind you.

    If you get a better result from your new plugs

    im hopeless at spelling that what the wife is for
    theirs a lot of people out their that swear by bosch but its just me had a bad exprience with them on a few different makes of cars so always get rid as soon as i see them in my engine bay

  10. #10
    Regular Member BYGino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You've just reminded me, I got Ik20's for my 2.8 and they are set to 1.1mm out of the box and I've already fitted them, the TIS says for the 2.8 it should be 0.95, should I take them out and adjust them? Car has been off the road waiting on a part anyway so I haven't driven it.

    Oh and

    the Z32SE/XE recommended gaps according to the TIS are 1.1mm anyway so it should just be a straight check & fit.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Sparkplug question?
    By kel123 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th July 2008, 18:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •