User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dial Card Swap

  1. #1
    Regular Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Dial Card Swap

    Hey all,

    Need to borrow your genious again!

    The dial's i have in my LS as the simple black ones etc. I have spoted a set of clocks from a broken vectra SRI which are the same rates (speedo values and rev limit values etc).

    As my clocks have had the SMD conversion completed on them i do not simply wamnt to swap the clocks over. Instead i am looking to swap the dial cards and needles over.

    Has anyone done this so i know it is possible to do?

    I am assuming it is simply a case of taking the clocks apart (pastic casing off them etc), removing the needles and the dial cards and swapping them for the set in my car's current speedo....

    Any insite onthis would be appreciated before I make a bid for these clocks.

    Thanks
    Colin

  2. #2
    Regular Member PANDY 3.2 V6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    sunderland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just one piece of wisdom from me, just make sure you mark the resting position of all the needles before you take them off, and put them back in exactly same place when putting back together, even 5mph out on the speedo could cost you done points on your license for accidentally speeding, and wrong clock is not a defence!

  3. #3
    Regular Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah... will be making doubly sure of this...!

    Won the clocks off ebay. Managed to get a set of Vectra SRI ones which match mine perfictly... So result there....

    Manage to find the guide for ripping them apart...

    I can see a whole guide / walk through happening for when i do these...

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    I diid exactly this with my old SXi saloon, bought an SRi dash off Ebay and used the front of that and transferred it onto the back of my original dash. No problems at all, hardest bit was lining the needles up again correctly afterwards.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  5. #5
    Regular Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian-Highlander View Post
    I diid exactly this with my old SXi saloon, bought an SRi dash off Ebay and used the front of that and transferred it onto the back of my original dash. No problems at all, hardest bit was lining the needles up again correctly afterwards.

    Well, got the new dials through yesterday so I dismantaled the cold clocks, swapped the dial cards and needles across and then fitted them all back in....

    All seems to be ok... Will get pictures posted up soon.

    Just a quick question on resetting the needles. When I fitted them i located them above the stop position and then moved them down (they clicked as they moved) until they were what i assume as correctly seated. I started tyhe car and they all are sitting where they were before hand (fuel, temp, rev counter etc). Is this the right process for fitting them or is there anything else i need to do to calobrate them?

    Thanks
    Col

  6. #6
    Regular Member coldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Some before and after pictures for you of the dial card swaps...

    Im sure you will all agree that the new dial cards look much'os better'os...

    OLD (not my picture but these are the exact same clocks)


    NEW



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. dial smd type
    By beat275 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 5th February 2012, 20:32
  2. fan speed dial
    By larann in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th September 2010, 21:54
  3. All Dial Failure!
    By j13hdb in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 29th June 2010, 16:08

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c speedo cards

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •