User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: French Navi CD Question

  1. #1
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Question French Navi CD Question

    Should I be able to put in a French address using the French navi cd while in the UK or do I need to wait till I get to France?

    I've put in the address where I want to go but it just sits at the calculating route screen.

    If I put in Paris from the the UK navi cd it works.

  2. #2
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    you will have to put in the france CD then make the route..

    Swap afterwards to the UK disc, and then again swap for the france..

    the cd only contains major roads..

  3. #3
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenp View Post
    you will have to put in the france CD then make the route..

    Swap afterwards to the UK disc, and then again swap for the france..

    the cd only contains major roads..
    Cheers Ken,

    Just been speaking to Big Pete and he says the same thing so hopefully when I get near France it will work... otherwise it will be major panic time!

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Most of the CD70 Cd's have full coverage of only one country and then only major roads of the nearest countries. You can get the UK one to navigate to say Paris or anywhere else big on a main route but that's about it. You could sit on a motorway bridge in the UK and use the French disc and get a route to just about anywhere in France, it would work out a route easily for you, but probably from the wrong port here or the wrong way round the M25 or via Ireland or somesuch.
    You could save the destination from here but it is easier just do it at the port, it will take the Satnav a good while to realise it's moved abroad and start to calculate.
    Use viamichelin website to get a route to compare, it will have tolls and fixed speed camera on it too.

    Also the amount of new motorways the French build means you might miss a faster or less messy routes, some of the A85 Loire is missing on mine, a 2010 disc, the A65 Bordeaux area only opened a month or so ago so is probably missing on all discs - the new motorway section around Reims may not be on it either.

    Common sense as ever with Satnav, my French disc occasionally wants me to take a turning the wrong way - as in up the on ramp with the guide arrow pointing a hard turn backwards

  5. #5
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neilrj View Post
    You could sit on a motorway bridge in the UK and use the French disc and get a route to just about anywhere in France
    That's what I thought at first, but mine just sits there saying calculating

    Quote Originally Posted by neilrj View Post
    Use viamichelin website to get a route to compare, it will have tolls and fixed speed camera on it too.

    Also the amount of new motorways the French build means you might miss a faster or less messy routes, some of the A85 Loire is missing on mine, a 2010 disc, the A65 Bordeaux area only opened a month or so ago so is probably missing on all discs - the new motorway section around Reims may not be on it either.

    Common sense as ever with Satnav, my French disc occasionally wants me to take a turning the wrong way - as in up the on ramp with the guide arrow pointing a hard turn backwards
    Thanks for the extra info

    Printed a route out just in case I need it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cd70 navi question
    By bopster in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th February 2013, 23:08
  2. Just got myself a cd70 navi just a question
    By pipamish in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th February 2012, 10:48
  3. how to change dvd90 (french question)
    By titine54 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th June 2010, 13:34
  4. Ignorant NAVI question...
    By HappyHarry in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th November 2007, 22:00
  5. CD 70 Navi Question.
    By mjhayward in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd February 2007, 12:27

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •