User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: BC Range stays the same after top up??

  1. #1
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default BC Range stays the same after top up??

    I've noticed on my new estate if I fill up by £15 or so the range on the BC stays the same?

    It took a day to catch up last time I watched it. Has anyone else had this issue?

  2. #2
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Its not really an issue, its just the £15 isn't a lot of fuel any more so it hardly registers. The BC doesn't update all increases, it may wait to see its an actual level increase or of you have stopped on a steep hill. If it updated with all level changes instantly then it would be constantly altering as you drive along different gradients.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  3. #3
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    As above, £15 is just over 10 litres
    More than likely the incremental changes on the fuel tank meter is not enough to update the range
    Presumably the fuel tank gauge has not yet moved?

    As the price of fuel has gone up I receive more and more complaints, "I have put £5 in and my fuel tank gauge has not moved"
    Well here is your receipt to prove your purchase and here is the phone number of X Customer Service, and here is Trading Standards
    Trading Standards even visited me two weeks ago to confirm they had received vastly more complaints due to "underfilling", but could find no evidence, such that they no longer investigate any reports under £20 / 15 litres
    Their visit was a surprise (as usual) as the pumps had been checked just a few weeks earlier, turned out they wanted to look at something else whilst they were present

  4. #4
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    Its not really an issue, its just the £15 isn't a lot of fuel any more so it hardly registers. The BC doesn't update all increases, it may wait to see its an actual level increase or of you have stopped on a steep hill. If it updated with all level changes instantly then it would be constantly altering as you drive along different gradients.
    yeah, I thought that, but I don't ever remember my hatch doing it.. but at the same time I don't ever remember topping it up with so little

  5. #5
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Typically I find that one fill up out of twenty the fuel gauge does not respond, as a consequence the range does not change
    Usually this is caused by filling with less than 14 litres
    Fill with more than that and it is rarely an issue

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. numberplate light stays on
    By skip85 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th January 2013, 17:25
  2. Replacing door stays
    By ghostrider in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st December 2011, 16:04
  3. Range display stays at 0 miles
    By MarkP in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th February 2011, 13:54
  4. EML stays on after alternator change
    By Delboy69 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th February 2011, 00:29
  5. Car and spanner light now stays on?
    By danny1992 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th December 2010, 14:04

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •