User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: 2.2 dti steinbauer pbox help

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default 2.2 dti steinbauer pbox help

    So i just got a second hand unit from Germany, all excited so went to fit it. Followed the instructions, seemed straight froward and joined all the wires. Now though the car won't even start, turns over but sounds like it's got no compression?

    Though I'd try with the box switched off as the setting may be too high. Same thing wont start.

    Hmm what did I do wrong? I cut the pump wire and used connectors, rather than soldering direct to the wire, could that be it? Please don't tell me my pump is now knackered as I will cry...

    I'm going out to solder the wires now, but any help and advice would be greatly appreciated, as I'm starting to panic - work tomorrow and no car - oops...

    Cheers,
    Larann

  2. #2
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    62 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    John robertson has same box, I'm sure he will be able to help

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  3. #3
    Regular Member sdemps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ayrshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi, have you maybe blown a fuse? Start with the easy things first no need to panic..............................yet.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    pulled the fuses and they all seem ok, even the big ones, not checked the wiring diagram to see which one feed the fuel pump, but I'll take a look and see if its gettng power out.

    Soldered the wires and still no go. Even with things back to normal it doesn't want to start.

    Depression is kicking in

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Still no joy on this, gonna leave the battery disconnected for the night, see if it resets anything. Then if that don't work I'll need to borrow my m8's diagnostic machine and see what fault codes are registed (yep the spanner's appeared).

    The engine spins over but it just sounds flat and doesn't want to fire, so I'm guessing no fuel because that's what I've been working around, but I just can't grasp why it's not working as all I've done is unplug things and plug em back in.

  6. #6
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    Did you connect it to the correct pump wire the first time you tried it?

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    the one at the front as the instructions tell you, but it's kind of at an angle if you know what I mean. If it was on the wrong one would it blow somehting?

  8. #8
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    It could well do. Iirc you have to remove a multi plug to gain access to the wires, did you plug it back in?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah, unpluged the egr and then the multi plug on hte righthand side of the pump, all plugged back in. Even double checked to see if I'd accidently bent a pin, and then sprayed them with wd40 incase i'd disturbed a dry pin.

    I just hoped I've not knackered the brain, but it's starting to look more and more like that, but then I also can't believe it's that delicate. I kind of though also that the car would run if the brain was knacked but wouldn't fuel properly with any throttle etc?

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Plugged in the diagnostic machine (W.O.W.), and it's chuffing spitting out a P0606 code, so an ecu fault, great.

    I still can't really believe I've done something to cause this, but then it can't really be coincidence either!! Kind of thinking the pbox may have been knacked and possible sent some kind of surge etc to the ecu?

    So what to do next, where the best place to send the unit to?

    Cheers for any advice, and everyone for their help so far.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. spotted this on ebay (another steinbauer pbox)
    By FLOB in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th December 2012, 02:16
  2. Steinbauer box
    By VectraElite 2.2DTi in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th February 2011, 19:45
  3. Steinbauer Tuning Box 2.0 & 2.2 DTI
    By Paddy2bsure in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th June 2009, 10:45
  4. PBox Install
    By MJED in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2nd August 2005, 08:11

Visitors found this page by searching for:

2.0dti steinbauer

steinbauer help page

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •