User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: 56 plate 2.8t v6 auto elite remap?

  1. #1
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NULL
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default 56 plate 2.8t v6 auto elite remap?

    Ok, I'm considering having my car remapped.

    Anyone got any views on this? which remap to use? etc etc

    It is currently a z28nel running 236bhp

    Thanks

    James

  2. #2
    Full Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    some of the guys are running the Bluefin maps on these and are happy with the results.. http://www.superchips.co.uk/search?m...8&variant=1837
    My old Signum, the animal; she now rests in pieces in several other members cars.. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=200
    The wifes vec show car, started as a standard daily driver and ended up like this. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=709



  3. #3
    Ex RO - East Region soulman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    VOTING UKIP IN AVELEY
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I,m running the AMD map(Shaun who tunes the VW golf in the Btcc)
    chose them as they are local ....am running 281.4 with 325ftlb of torque.

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    more than happy with the bluefin very nice performance and the convience of being able to remove it if needed along with bing able to immobilise the vehicle and read fault codes with the device too

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  5. #5
    New Member Tmd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Another vote for bluefin - ability to do it yourself, put back to standard and remap as you wish and read fault codes makes it the best option.

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NULL
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Bluefin £500 OUCH!! think i'll just get the mobile fella out for £200.

    Never needed to re-upload old map onto the old car so can't see why I would want to spend £500 on a bluefin.

  7. #7
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    well the Bluefin is tried and tested ..... hopefully the man in the van wont have any issues when he does yours for £200 ...

    Even Ian had an initial issue with his AMD map and had to go back for it to be tweaked as the car was driving in LHM


    and if you ever have any issues its easier to take the map off to confirm the cause when you have the ability to remove it ...... some software updates from VX COULD wipe yours on the ECu

    im not knocking a man in a van but i would be able to reload mine if this happened .... you might have to shell out for another one or maybe the chap wouldnt be available when you needed him

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  8. #8
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Didn't some of the 2.8t ecu's lock up when remapped?
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  9. #9
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NULL
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have used him before. he lives local and is more than happy to come out and reinstall the map for free when ever needed.

    Its not a stock firmware he uses, he takes a copy and uploads it to some company that tweaks it and then uploads it to the ECU exactly the same as bluefin.

    I still dont see the point in paying an extra £300 just so I can put the old map back on when he has offered to do it for free. He done it on my touran before i sold it so why shouldn't i trust him?

    If the ECU is likely to lock up, then it is just as likely to lock up with the bluefin prove otherwise!

    At least if it locks up and goes t!ts up when the guy is here he can get it sorted! what backup do you have if the worst should happen when using a bluefin???

    If anything I would of thought the bluefin is a much riskier option devices like that made in mass quantities anything could go wrong half way through a reprogram.

    Mobile guys tend to have several pieces of equipment should one fail.

    just my opinion of course ;-)

  10. #10
    New Member Tmd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Bluefin comes with a warranty, if it messes your car up they will pay. Plus Superchips are probably one of the longest established tuning companies as used by race teams and manufacturers. It's a heck of a lot of money - yes but so is a new engine or ECU. You pays your money.........

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. vxr auto gear box remap
    By leedslads in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 29th February 2012, 23:55
  2. 55 plate 2.8t Elite
    By Big Sig in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 19th July 2010, 20:54
  3. Remap the 2.8 with auto box?
    By Largespanners in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd October 2009, 11:22
  4. 3.2 elite - 03 plate
    By poves in forum How much is it worth? (THIS SECTION IS NOW CLOSED)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th December 2008, 20:14
  5. Remap on a 1.9 CDTi (150) Auto?
    By Vectra Singh in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th September 2007, 17:56

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •