User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Ignition live in engine bay

  1. #1
    Regular Member nokiaman1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Ignition live in engine bay

    Looking for an ignition live in engine bay, it's to connect some more led strips for either lighting up behind my grill or to light up engine bay in the dark with a switch to turn on and off, not decided yet what i will do, could feed from my led strips that i have fed into the light plugs, but dont want to muck about with that.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ideal and much less hassle...

  3. #3
    Full Member lizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    southampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    pretty sure I used fuse 14 in the engine bay for my DRLs....

  4. #4
    Regular Member nokiaman1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    12 v led strips, how would i connect this to fuse 14 , is there a fuse already in place and is it a matter of removing it placing the wires down each side of contacts and puting fuse back in, also what is this fuse for. sorry for all the questions.

  5. #5
    Regular Member nokiaman1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    dont want to be a pest but hopefully looking to get this done today, anybody any idea on how to run it from fuse 14.

  6. #6
    Full Member lizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    southampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    two minutes matey,

    I used one of these

  7. #7
    Full Member lizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    southampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nokiaman1978 View Post
    12 v led strips, how would i connect this to fuse 14 , is there a fuse already in place and is it a matter of removing it placing the wires down each side of contacts and puting fuse back in, also what is this fuse for. sorry for all the questions.
    I did just push the live into the slot until the above link arrived HTH...

  8. #8
    Regular Member nokiaman1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thanks mate, where did you connect earth

  9. #9
    Full Member lizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    southampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Any earthing point under the bonnet matey, mine are on a switch too so I can turn them off when working on the car and need the ignition on....

  10. #10
    Regular Member nokiaman1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    what slot does it go in on fuse 14 left or right mate dont want to blow anything, could you also point out a obvious earth point

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring an amp, need an ignition live and permanent live in the boot
    By inchy1981 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd November 2012, 16:36
  2. Alternative ignition live for Parrot to work when engine off, but key still in?
    By Thomza in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th August 2012, 05:06
  3. ignition live
    By Mads in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th June 2011, 23:45
  4. Ignition live
    By dazza3674 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th May 2011, 20:46
  5. Ignition Live
    By leeds vectra in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th December 2006, 01:20

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •