User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Aftermarket Head Unit + Info Display HELP

  1. #1
    Regular Member SRI Alex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Telford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Aftermarket Head Unit + Info Display HELP

    Hi all,

    Sorry this has already been said but i cant for the life of me find where it is
    Anyway, im wanting to put an aftermarket Double din stereo in my Vectra c which currently has a CD70 Navi in it, once installed i want the info display screen to show the radio station, cd track number ect on it from the aftermarket unit, as i said before, im sure i have seen this done somewhere on here but cant find it, also the guy had the steering controls working with it, does anyone know how to go about doing this and what i will need to do it if it is actually possible...?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    Some head units do have this facility through an additional adaptor. I have it on mine (Alpine IVA-W505R), but it's not very common and you usually have to buy high end radios to get that functionality. When you look at units, they will have "Vehicle display interface ready" or similar on them.
    Last edited by Ian-Highlander; 18th May 2011 at 17:28.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    When i was looking at options, the Alpine was the only one i could find at a realistic price with the display interface. The interface alone was £100.

    That was last year, so others may be available now.

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    Yeah I paid £90 for the Alpine dual interface on mine (screen and steering wheel controls in one).

    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ian,

    Can you elaborate on what is actually displayed on the screen? This question pops up from time to time, so i am sure there are others who would like to know how effective this solution is... i am just being nosey!

    Rgds
    Aidi

  6. #6
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    There's full screen shots in my first ice thread, hang on I'll dig the link out to the post.

    Edit: here http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showpo...&postcount=147
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  7. #7
    Regular Member SRI Alex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Telford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the replies, looks like im going to have to stick with the trip computer on my screen though because iv allready bought a kenwood unit
    Maby should have waited as the kenwood was £800 and doesnt have this feature

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It's a real bummer that intergration with the built in screen is so limited.

    I guess it's not cost effective to make an interface.

  9. #9
    Regular Member TimTay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BRECHIN
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I looked into this a while back, sure it was Ian who gave me the heads up that the alpine adadpter I needed was expensive. Shame really would be cool but I just can't justify the price for the steering controls let alone the display one!
    Need a higher paying job I think

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    In reply to the OP, I've lookedinto this myself and I believe that Sony dooe this as well as Alpine.... althought they both say that the display interface is not compatible with CD70\CID setups......

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Aftermarket head unit
    By Alansvecky in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2nd December 2011, 20:23
  2. Help with fitting an aftermarket head unit.
    By alembicbassman in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th August 2010, 19:29
  3. Help with aftermarket head unit
    By siross in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19th April 2008, 12:39
  4. What do u lose on display when fitting aftermarket head unit?
    By Rikkiola in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th March 2006, 22:57
  5. Aftermarket Head Unit Conversion?
    By Cheeky_B in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th November 2005, 18:50

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •