User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Vx Towbar Electrics

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fife
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Vx Towbar Electrics

    Anyone have a Vx towbar with twin electrics fitted - I've just had one fitted(great bit of kit BTW except that the second socket doesn't swivel for some stupid reason). I was expecting it to power the fridge in my caravan but after being away in it for the weekend I dont think it worked.
    I know in my Omega (and Witter towbar) I had to have a special relay fitted and run a cable to the battery, but I assumed that with this all singing plug-in system that this would all be included.
    Can anyone advise...or is it my fridge thats faulty?
    Thanks
    Decho

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    did you get the installation tech2 enabled??

    You have to enable the lighting side of the sockets ( the 7 pin one) so it would follow you would have to enable the acc socket..

    i'll have a look in the back of our signum as that has both sockets on it..

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Market Drayton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    How old is your caravan. They changed the wiring on the 12S socket in 1999, pins do different things. If the caravan is older than this, then you may find the newer socket on your car will not do what you expect. There are websites with this info on (not sure off the top of my head which ones). Look it up, and then the best thing to do would be to reorder the pins on your caravan to suit (or have an auto electrician do it if your not happy doing it.).

    Hope this helps

    Rob

  4. #4
    Regular Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have Vauxhall's detchable kit on mine, with 12N and 12S electrics.

    If you stick your head in the boot and open the cover where the electrics are, and get someone else to switch on the ignition, you should here the relay go.

    It does on mine.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fife
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    caravan is new and worked fine on my previous car.
    Relay does switch on and off, but after checking with a voltmeter, it appears that there is no output on any of the pins for fridge or anything else for that matter. Does anyone know whether the Tech2 is just a single adjustment which enables all the twin electrics or does something extra have to be done to enable 12S.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    have you put the 20amp fuse in position F13???

    it's a note missing from some version of the handbook according to VX technical support..

    Funny.. i was talking to them today about someone elses towbar

  7. #7
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yep, but I have it sussed now, all I would really like is plug, that will fit my cars factory loom !!!
    PS, yes I'm a numty, lol.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default



    you still going to shoot over tonight then or have you got it sorted now?

  9. #9
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Lol

    Erm.....I can still pop over if you wish m8, dunno if you wana nose round how the Sigbum has been done for your own piece of mind, I'll come over if you do. (McDonalds is still open right ??? lol)
    My electrics are working, no tech2 required.
    As per our conversations earlier, I think I have two choices now:
    1: Cut the plug on my factory loom and solder the connections into a shortened version of the lead from the tow bar pack.
    2: Find a plug that will fit into the one on my factory loom so I can make my own loom up, the only chance I think is, IF the Vec B one fits ?

    Seriously considering getting the soldering iron out, though it isn't the ideal solution, lol.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fife
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've checked the fuse panel in the rear of my Signum and fuse F13 has nothing in it - this should be 20A or is this for a Vectra?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Towbar electrics
    By jofenan in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12th October 2011, 16:21
  2. Towbar Electrics
    By slipperysam1984 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd June 2010, 15:53
  3. Towbar Electrics
    By r.bailey63 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15th October 2009, 19:05
  4. Towbar electrics
    By CPHB in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th July 2005, 21:28

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •