User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 1.8 crankshaft position sensor.

  1. #1
    Regular Member jimmyred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default 1.8 crankshaft position sensor.

    Hi, my spanner light has made an appearance. Along with a few regular codes relating to cooling fan, there is a new one:

    P0335. Crankshaft position sensor circuit A.

    I believe this indicates a fault in the wiring or sensor itself, rather than a fault with crankshaft? Is this correct?
    The sensor is near oil filter i think?. I will check it when I get chance.

    Had MOT recently (not a service) would they be likely to have disturbed it then?

    I also changed oil myself a few months ago, had quite a struggle with filter and whole area got pretty oily, including sensor. I seem to remember two connectors down there. Whats the other one for?

    My cambelt is due in 5000 miles (40000 interval) could this be relevant?

    Since I don't seem to have any mechanical problem, I am inclined to do nothing and see if fault continues to appear. Am I safe doing this?
    Any opinions gratefully recieved.

  2. #2
    VIP-Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    `
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : `

    Trim : `

    Engine : `

    Year : `

    Mileage : `

    Default

    Yes its under the oil filter, think the other one is the oil level sensor. Quick look on Vaux parts shows they are less than £30 to replace. Might be worth just replacing at that cost.

    http://www.vauxhallworldparts.com/va...number=9115115
    "We are not some sort of dictatorship!"


  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    north east
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Best off just replacing, you can take them out and clean them but if it doesnt work it =

    Take out, Clean refit ... take out , fit new one.

    for £30 ish may as well just replace it its probably done 100 000 miles.

  4. #4
    Regular Member jimmyred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ok thanks. Now I've seen a picture I think i know the one. I'll check it and clean it, if code recurs new one it is. Cheers for your help. From reading on net it seemed it was more likely to be sensor than actual fault .

  5. #5
    Regular Member jimmyred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    just out of interest (as rev counter is fine.) does the ECU get its engine speed signal from crankshaft sensor?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    north east
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Not sure but on my mk 4 astra DTI it got the rpm from the gearbox speed sensor.

  7. #7
    Regular Member LADmachining's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyred View Post
    just out of interest (as rev counter is fine.) does the ECU get its engine speed signal from crankshaft sensor?
    Yes it does. The crank sensor provides the main timing signal for injection and ignition. If it fails, the camshaft sensor is used as a backup.

    If either cam or crank sensor fail, the engine rev limit is lowered to 4500rpm, rather than the 6500rpm it is normally.


    Quote Originally Posted by roswell View Post
    Not sure but on my mk 4 astra DTI it got the rpm from the gearbox speed sensor.
    Don't know where to begin explaining what is wrong with that statement!

    The DTi gets it's engine RPM signal from a crank sensor the same as most other engines.

    Some early Mk4's have a sensor in the gearbox for the speedo. Later models without ABS had a single hub sensor on the N/S/F providing the speed signal - those with ABS the signal comes from the ABS control unit.

  8. #8
    Regular Member disco dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyred View Post
    Hi, my spanner light has made an appearance. Along with a few regular codes relating to cooling fan, there is a new one:

    P0335. Crankshaft position sensor circuit A.

    I believe this indicates a fault in the wiring or sensor itself, rather than a fault with crankshaft? Is this correct?
    The sensor is near oil filter i think?. I will check it when I get chance.

    Had MOT recently (not a service) would they be likely to have disturbed it then?

    I also changed oil myself a few months ago, had quite a struggle with filter and whole area got pretty oily, including sensor. I seem to remember two connectors down there. Whats the other one for?

    My cambelt is due in 5000 miles (40000 interval) could this be relevant?

    Since I don't seem to have any mechanical problem, I am inclined to do nothing and see if fault continues to appear. Am I safe doing this?
    Any opinions gratefully recieved.
    In the nicest possible way, thank christ for that!! I have a very similar problem. P0011 camshaft position sensor, I replaced both sensors, inlet and exhaust with no cure. Engine runs fine. Keep me informed how you get on.

  9. #9
    Regular Member John C S's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gangsta crossover on the drive? Check
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by disco dan View Post
    In the nicest possible way, thank christ for that!! I have a very similar problem. P0011 camshaft position sensor, I replaced both sensors, inlet and exhaust with no cure. Engine runs fine. Keep me informed how you get on.
    Have you checked the security of the wiring, chafes or breaks etc?

    Father in law had this on a PT Cruiser. garage replaced both Crank and Cam sensors to find out chafed wiring to the sensor was causing it!

  10. #10
    Regular Member jimmyred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thanks everyone. Not had chance to investigate yet as mrs has just had baby, so been fairly busy!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 1.8 VVT crankshaft position sensor location?
    By disco dan in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 22nd January 2012, 12:35
  2. Crankshaft sensor
    By MORGIE8153 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th December 2011, 17:57
  3. crankshaft sensor
    By valhalla in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th May 2011, 13:09
  4. crankshaft sensor
    By morri76 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th April 2010, 20:36
  5. Crankshaft Sensor
    By rhodod in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th December 2008, 23:21

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c 1.8 crank sensor location

https:www.vectra-c.comforumshowthread.php137576-1-8-crankshaft-position-sensor

how to check timing and crank sensor on vauxhall insignia 1.8 2011

vauxhall vectra 1.8 camshaft sensor location

vectra c crankshaft sensor

what is diffrent with vauxhall vectra cranck shaft sensors

vectra c crank sensor symptoms

1.8 vectra crank sensor replacement

vauxhall zafira crankshaft sensor location

camshaft sensor vectra c

vauxhall vectra crankshaft sensor problems

vectra c crankshaft sensor location

vauxhall vectra crankshaft sensor location

crankshaft sensor vectra c symptoms

vectra c crank sensor

zafira crankshaft sensor

vauxhall vectra c cranshaft sensor fault

vectra 1.8 crank sensor location

vauxhall astra crankshaft sensor location

crankshaft position sensor vauxhall vectra

vauxhall vectra crankshaft sensor location site:www.vectra-c.com

how to replace crankshaft sensor vectra c

vauxhall astra mk5 crank sensor location

how to change crankshaft sensor on a 1.8 astra

replacing insignia camshaft positional sensor

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •