User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Cost of replacing a consumer unit

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    ...........
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : .

    Trim : .

    Engine : .

    Year : .

    Default Cost of replacing a consumer unit

    Hi guys, ive just been quoted over £700 to have the wiring tested and have the consumer unit replaced into a 2 bedroomed house bulit in 1980. - I think this is really heavy, what do you think?

    Any ideas on what price i should be looking at?

    Any electricians in the Harrogate/Leeds/York area want to give me a quote send me a PM

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    A new CCU with breakers will cost you around £100 - £150 from a wholesalers, do you know how many circuits you have, id imagine a 2 bed house has between 4 and 7 circuits, thats about two to three hours work, and a test for part p, don't forget that a new CCU has to be notified under partp of the building regs aswell, so you'll also have fees from your local building control.. £700 is too high though..

    I dont know anyone in your area but TrustaTrader may help
    http://www.trustatrader.com/

  3. #3
    Regular Member Ademusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dunstable
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Exactly as pete said. I'm sure you'll get it cheaper than that. Split load boards can be anything from £70.00 upwards, including breakers. Notification to building control can be done through whoever the electrician is registered with, so he should give you a price for fitting, notification and testing. Rough guess £300-£400. Might get the cost down if you buy the consumer unit yourself, you'll have to know what to get though and what size breakers you'll need for your circuits.

  4. #4
    Regular Member !tf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Chesterfield/Sheffield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you looking at buying the consumer unit yourself and need some guidence drop me a PM mate. Im an electrical apprentice qualified at level two just about to move onto level three.

  5. #5
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by !tf View Post
    If you looking at buying the consumer unit yourself and need some guidence drop me a PM mate. Im an electrical apprentice qualified at level two just about to move onto level three.
    Guidance is good, but no subsitute for a proper install especially as a CCU change will more than likely mean you have to remove the main fuses or do it live, which I dont recommend a novice do, A new CCU is notifiable under PartP, so it'll need to be notified to local building control, upto you if you don't tell the LBC, but as yours is a 1980's era build it'll be obvious if you sell it that there's been a CCU change at some point and you may be asked to provide paperwork before a sale goes through..

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    ...........
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : .

    Trim : .

    Engine : .

    Year : .

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big-Pete View Post
    Guidance is good, but no subsitute for a proper install especially as a CCU change will more than likely mean you have to remove the main fuses or do it live, which I dont recommend a novice do, A new CCU is notifiable under PartP, so it'll need to be notified to local building control, upto you if you don't tell the LBC, but as yours is a 1980's era build it'll be obvious if you sell it that there's been a CCU change at some point and you may be asked to provide paperwork before a sale goes through..
    I'm not even going to consider doing this myself, but thanks for the offer of guidance anyway - with me being colour blind i dont think it would be a good idea!

    Also, i would like to have it properly certificated should i sell the property - so its gonna have to be a professional install.

    Thanks so far guys

  7. #7
    Regular Member triple595's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    llandrindod wells
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Parts are 100 quid ish time 200 quid testing 100 quid, 500 quid max imo

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Middlesbrough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes, parts may be inexpensive nut i wouldnt recommend that you buy them and ask the electrician to fit them.
    As an electrician I would not fit a cheap consumer unit, some of the cheaper makes are an absolute nightmare to work with - very little space inside to terminate the wiring, poor quiality etc

    I agree that the price you have been quoted is on the expensive side but to carry out a full periodic inspection and replace the consumer unit should be a full days work.

    I suggest you get another couple of quotes, ensuring that all are from a part p registered spark. Dont forget that whoever does it must give you a Electrical Installation Certificate, followed by a notification from building control

  9. #9
    Regular Member hutch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TELFORD
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    B and q have a 10way fully populated unit for 50 quid. Superb.

  10. #10
    Regular Member markm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I had mine replaced last year with the new style RDC board.. 10 brakers , 2 RDC's and 2 main trips, fitted , tested and signed off to the local council, £290.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. moving a consumer unit??
    By paul.sessions in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th December 2012, 09:10
  2. Cost of replacing
    By johnny kebab in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd December 2012, 16:18
  3. cost of replacing injector seals ?
    By Rocky Balboa in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th January 2012, 21:36
  4. cost of replacing tyres
    By marktaylor in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th June 2010, 07:48
  5. Cost of replacing entire auto dimming door mirror?
    By Elite Estate in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th November 2008, 21:04

Visitors found this page by searching for:

cost replace consumer unit

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •