User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Turbo lag ??????

  1. #1
    Regular Member vxinsigniaboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monmouthshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Turbo lag ??????

    OK, Having my Insignia some 2 months.

    Being a pleased with it and enjoy it as it loves Motorways being at ease, but it seems to have a lag when changing gears in a hurry from rest.

    My last car, a Citroen Grand Picasso 1.6 HDi had a lively engine when going up through the gears in a hurry withouy any lag when changing gear. Also when starting from standstill it appears to have a lull till it gets to approx. 1400rpm then starts to move, yet the Citroen was flew from the word go.

    Is this way the Insignia should be or is there a software upgrade to overcome this lag or a visit to the dealer is required.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you don't say which model you have or how old it is?

  3. #3
    Regular Member markm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    dont thing the turb starts to spool till 1500rpm thats why when you drive and change gear and dont let the clutch back out the revs will hold at 1600rpm

  4. #4
    Regular Member vxinsigniaboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monmouthshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sorry I've been trying to sort my Signature to show the car details etc. But i don't have access for some reason which the message says:

    "Sorry, you are not permitted to have a signature."

    My car Insignia 2.0 CDTi SRi 130, year 11 model

    As for spooling, therefore it should not have a lag or lull when changing at 3000 or 4000rpm. I've not known with all my previous Turbo Diesels whether Pre ECU or ECU controlled to be as bad as this.

    Knowing this engine is used by Alfa/Fiat and Saab and driven a Alfa Auto, the lag or what you want to call it is the same as the Auto. These Autos are not the same as the older type Torqueconverter.

    thanks

  5. #5
    Regular Member R-ford_Vec_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    St Helens
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You need to be a full member to have a signature buddy

  6. #6
    Regular Member markm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vxinsigniaboy View Post
    Sorry I've been trying to sort my Signature to show the car details etc. But i don't have access for some reason which the message says:

    "Sorry, you are not permitted to have a signature."

    My car Insignia 2.0 CDTi SRi 130, year 11 model

    As for spooling, therefore it should not have a lag or lull when changing at 3000 or 4000rpm. I've not known with all my previous Turbo Diesels whether Pre ECU or ECU controlled to be as bad as this.

    Knowing this engine is used by Alfa/Fiat and Saab and driven a Alfa Auto, the lag or what you want to call it is the same as the Auto. These Autos are not the same as the older type Torqueconverter.

    thanks
    Not noticed it that bad, but I had a K&N air filter fitted from 10 miles on the clock lol

  7. #7
    Regular Member nutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Central England
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : very

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : Nosey

    Default

    Fiat, Sabb and Alfa do not use the new 2.0CDTI. The 1.9CDTI was reworked in an attempt to remove some of the issues with the 1.9 and increase output (as I understand it). So it's not like the 1.9CDTI which was exactly the same engine as in the Sabb and simular to that in the Fiat and Alfa.

  8. #8
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRI NAV XP

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI 150

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 72K

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nutron View Post
    Fiat, Sabb and Alfa do not use the new 2.0CDTI. The 1.9CDTI was reworked in an attempt to remove some of the issues with the 1.9 and increase output (as I understand it). So it's not like the 1.9CDTI which was exactly the same engine as in the Sabb and simular to that in the Fiat and Alfa.
    Fiat and Alfa Romeo currently use a new 2.0 Multijet JTD engine, developed from the old 1.9 JTD engine which I suspect is at the very least similar to GM's 2.0CDTI.

  9. #9
    Regular Member daveypower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Donegal
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you may just have a bigger turbo now, compared to the 1.6. the 1.6 turbo id imagine would be quite small and therefore wouldnt have much lag and would spool up quite fast but will run out of puff faster, the opposite goes for a bigger turbo.

  10. #10
    Regular Member vxinsigniaboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monmouthshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    OK,

    Why was my first Turbo Diesel some years ago a 1996 1.9TD Citroen ZX which was modified with a larger Garrett turbo with an output of 120HP on a rolling road with a Lucas mechanical injector pump, virtually had no lag when changing gears at 3000/4000 rpm.

    As for the present Vauxhall diesels, if you look at an Alfa alongside the Vauxhall you would find it difficult to tell the difference. Every item ie engine block and covers, turbo, manifolds and piping are the same.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 6th September 2014, 13:54
  2. Turbo Technics Hybrid turbo details.
    By nutron in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 28th February 2011, 22:57
  3. TD04L14T turbo for Z20NET (2.0 turbo)
    By Caveman_nige in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th October 2010, 13:23
  4. Turbo Help
    By CDTi-SRi-Matt in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th February 2010, 11:42
  5. is it possible to change 2.0 dti turbo to 2.2dti turbo
    By EURO G in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 22nd October 2008, 07:35

Visitors found this page by searching for:

insignia turbo lag when changing gear

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •