User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Air-con help needed

  1. #1
    Regular Member 92nc30's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ipswich
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Air-con help needed

    Hi,
    I have a vectra C 1.9cdti (150hp) Elite Estate and I had the dreaded blocked drain and alot of water flooded the footwell, after sorting that out and checking everything worked ok, I was happy. But having stuck the air-con onfor the warm weather,my air-con hasn't been cold at all. Thinking that I hadn't used the air-con much I got it regassed and it has made no difference at all. The garage told me the compressor would need replacing. Not trusting them I did a check over things and found no fuses gone, relay ok and but i did find the compressor clutch not engaging. I am going to try to stick 12v direct to it tomorrow afternoon but need help. There are 2 wires going into i believe, which one will require 12v+ slapped on it?. Also is there other things to check? ie low pressure sensor and where it is would help I've had a good look but cant see anything like one.

    Any help would be gratefully recieved as I refuse to pay out for something that might not even be at fault.

    Also, I have just bought a Haynes manual and the wiring diagrams are rubbish Is thare anywhere I can get a decent wiring diagram for the aircon system?

    Thanks in advance
    Matt
    Last edited by 92nc30; 6th May 2011 at 19:44. Reason: added question

  2. #2
    Regular Member 92nc30's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ipswich
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Right I had a good climb under the car and found 12v going to the clutch, pulley turns free enough but I did find the clutch coil has no resistance. Now reading up on the coil there is a thermal fuse in it. Is this an easy job to do and can it be done on the car, I dont fancy taking the compressor of as I just had it filled.

    Thanks for any help

  3. #3
    Regular Member byebyeitsagsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The compressor wont come on if there isnt enough gas pressure. Its a safety thing so it cant operate with no gas. If theres no gas it must be leaking, there must be a leak somewhere either due to damage from road debri or due to lack of use.

    It needs a proper leak test done mate.

  4. #4
    Regular Member TimTay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BRECHIN
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I thought my air con was broken but fiddlein round I found I had turned it off in the computer thingy felt right a total plank!

  5. #5
    Regular Member 92nc30's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ipswich
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    byebyeitsagsi - I've just had the system regassed and they found no leaks, I hadn't used it for a while and it lost the gas. The compessor is being asked to run as I have checked the voltage down to it and also stuck 12v supply direct to the unit with the car running and still no joy.
    TimTay - the numptys at the garge hadn't turned on the aircon - still had it in eco mode when i got it and h#was hopefull that would be the problem but again no joy.

    Its defo the electric clutch gone wrong . I need to know if i can chane just that or have to do the whole compressor

  6. #6
    Regular Member TimTay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BRECHIN
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 92nc30 View Post
    byebyeitsagsi - I've just had the system regassed and they found no leaks, I hadn't used it for a while and it lost the gas. The compessor is being asked to run as I have checked the voltage down to it and also stuck 12v supply direct to the unit with the car running and still no joy.
    TimTay - the numptys at the garge hadn't turned on the aircon - still had it in eco mode when i got it and h#was hopefull that would be the problem but again no joy.

    Its defo the electric clutch gone wrong . I need to know if i can chane just that or have to do the whole compressor
    So that's what the Eco means! Pmsl

  7. #7
    Regular Member Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Turdsville
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    35 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Lada

    Trim : Riva

    Engine : 6.0 V12

    Year : 1954

    Mileage : 567890987

    Default

    John.Robertson was having much the same issue, but his clutch burned out. You can get a new clutch for it but wait for it, hope your sitting down, £400 from vx for one, lol.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimTay View Post
    So that's what the Eco means! Pmsl
    RTFM time perhaps?

  9. #9
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by byebyeitsagsi View Post
    The compressor wont come on if there isnt enough gas pressure. Its a safety thing so it cant operate with no gas. If theres no gas it must be leaking, there must be a leak somewhere either due to damage from road debri or due to lack of use.

    It needs a proper leak test done mate.
    If the air con clutch has burned out then the clutch won't engage

    Quote Originally Posted by DasArab View Post
    John.Robertson was having much the same issue, but his clutch burned out. You can get a new clutch for it but wait for it, hope your sitting down, £400 from vx for one, lol.
    I have a replacement air con compressor sitting here for mine ass it was cheaper to buy a whole new compressor than to just buy the clutch.

    The clutch unit should come off of the compressor easy enough but I've not hasd a propper chance to have a look.

    Although I don't have climate control, like you I have 12v at the compressor so it is trying to engage but the clutch isn't responding

  10. #10
    Regular Member 92nc30's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ipswich
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Update time. I got compressor from eBay and checked the clutch was ok. I took the clutch off which was easy on a bench. Today I managed to change the clutch, it was easy but anyone wanting to do this will need some plong 90 degree circlip pliers to get the circlip that retains the electro-magnetic coil on the compressor.
    Now I have very cold air con again and a sore knuckles from the lack of space in the engine bay.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Amp help needed
    By minimission83 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th March 2012, 22:17
  2. help needed
    By sebadee in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st January 2011, 19:57
  3. Help needed!!
    By seannygoat in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 26th December 2010, 17:23
  4. Help Needed
    By Andie-100 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th December 2010, 21:51
  5. How To Needed........
    By spennny in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th July 2009, 14:17

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •