User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46

Thread: removing mesh from AFM?

  1. #1
    Regular Member Jaspa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    nottingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : GSi

    Engine : Z32SE

    Year : 53

    Mileage : 57,000

    Default removing mesh from AFM?

    as above...thinking about removing the element from the afm to smash all the plastic mesh out and smooth it out....i have a 3.2 v6

    it was a common thing to do on mk3oc with ecotecs....just wondering if anyone has any input? as the element wont get damaged by particles if u have an air filter its just a restriction really and to stop you touching the element..

    anyone see why this wouldnt work without bringing the engine managment light on?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I removed the plastic screen and wire mesh!...one if the cheaper mods!...no lights

  3. #3
    Regular Member byebyeitsagsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It will do nothing for performance but sooner or later you will have your hand in your pocket and pulling out at least £150 for a new one.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i can't see the mesh being restrictive at all tbh

  5. #5
    Regular Member hagga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kingswinford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by byebyeitsagsi View Post
    It will do nothing for performance but sooner or later you will have your hand in your pocket and pulling out at least £150 for a new one.
    £60 on fleabay

    Quote Originally Posted by dh.dti View Post
    i can't see the mesh being restrictive at all tbh
    It would cause a restriction but I'd imagine the overall area is prob greater than the throttle body bore so prob wont make any difference... I'll be doing this once I've finished my throttle body mods

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    any mesh has a % open area........... these meshes will be 90% at best, which is a restriction. A new MAF would be required to make it standard, no other reason.

  7. #7
    Regular Member hagga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kingswinford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paul667 View Post
    A new MAF would be required to make it standard, no other reason.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hagga View Post
    I broke the plastic mesh when i removed it, then i ground the remaining lugs smooth!
    So now, if I wanted to put the mesh back to original spec I would have to buy a new £170 replacement Bosch MAF.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Jaspa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    nottingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : GSi

    Engine : Z32SE

    Year : 53

    Mileage : 57,000

    Default

    so to do....or not to do?

    hagga...where did u get your modded tb?

  10. #10
    Regular Member hagga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kingswinford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paul667 View Post
    I broke the plastic mesh when i removed it, then i ground the remaining lugs smooth!
    So now, if I wanted to put the mesh back to original spec I would have to buy a new £170 replacement Bosch MAF.
    Ahh I get you now.. there are some (prob not bosch) on ebay for much less... but I don't think there's an issue with 'lack of mesh'.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaspa View Post
    so to do....or not to do?
    hmmm... I'll measure the internal diameters of the maf tomorrow and see if it's smaller or larger than the tb bore... the ID of the tb where the butterfly(the smallest dia thoughout the tb) is 64mm.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaspa View Post
    hagga...where did u get your modded tb?
    It's work in progress at the mo.. I got a standard tb off fleabay and stripped it... hopefully get it machined out from 64 to 68-69mm, slim down the butterfly shaft and make a new butterfly..not too sure if i'll need to open up the inlet on the plenium yet...

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Mesh on order
    By Ben999 in forum Styling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th April 2009, 20:19
  2. mesh grill
    By m8wos in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th January 2009, 20:44
  3. Removing the mesh gauze around the airflow meter
    By bobby-tupper in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd December 2008, 19:42
  4. Vxr Grill Mesh
    By pmw123 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th February 2008, 22:01

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •