User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Confused Vec Newbie needs advice...

  1. #1
    New Member Weaselbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Confused Vec Newbie needs advice...

    Hello to all fellow forum members.

    I am quite new to the veccy having only owned mine for a couple of months but I already love it. I have also found this forum very helpful and following advice received here actually fitted my first mod (okay it was only the sunglasses holder but you have to start somewhere ).

    What I would like some advice on is upgrading the CD player. I have a 2006 (55 plate) Vectra 1.8i Exclusive fitted with a CD30 and a TID. My first port of call was the Vauxhall dealers (naive I know) who either showed a complete lack of interest or came up with various reasons why it couldn't be done (stereo is paired to the car etc).

    Next I looked at the aftermarket solution and without really doing my research got a double-DIN Kenwood unit which worked fine but it just didn't look right. This may sound crazy but for me it looked out of place with the rest of the controls, I know many people fit aftermarket units and love them but it just didn't work for me. So after a couple of days in the car I took the Kenwood back out and its destined for ebay.

    So I have decided that I would like to replace the CD30 with a Vauxhall OEM unit but I don't know what to do next. Can you buy OEM units new or will it have to be ebay? What are the range of units that are available, is there a list so that I can compare features? What are the pitfalls I need to be wary off?

    Anyway, if you have made it this far, thanks for your patience and any advice or pointers would be gratefully received.

  2. #2
    Regular Member DAVIDD88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    scottish region
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    its not paired to the car its paired to the display if u buy a factory unit with the screen (tid cid etc) it will work mate and aftermarket u will need a steering wheel controls lead aswell for using the functions

  3. #3
    Regular Member davidlewis24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    bridgend / wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Best bet is eBay mate get a cd70 nav & either a CID or GID looking at £220 odd for the GID and around £350-£400 for the colour hope it helps

  4. #4
    New Member Weaselbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the reply vectrac150cdti. I certainly want to get an OEM Vauxhall unit to keep the 'Vauxhall' look. Is there a list\web-page anywhere that shows the units that will fit in my Vectra?

  5. #5
    New Member Weaselbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidlewis24 View Post
    Best bet is eBay mate get a cd70 nav & either a CID or GID looking at £220 odd for the GID and around £350-£400 for the colour hope it helps
    Would there be any problems pairing the unit and display to the car? I saw this on ebay http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VAUXHALL-CD40-...item3f098f08d5
    would it go straight in?

  6. #6
    Regular Member DAVIDD88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    scottish region
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    cd30 ,cd30 mp3 ,cd70, cdc40 opera

  7. #7
    Regular Member DAVIDD88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    scottish region
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Weaselbert View Post
    Would there be any problems pairing the unit and display to the car? I saw this on ebay http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VAUXHALL-CD40-...item3f098f08d5
    would it go straight in?
    heres the same unit £50 cheaper and will be plug and play cheers

  8. #8
    Regular Member nibblitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    These look nice

    Car DVD Player & SAT NAV

    I think a bloke on here once got one and fitted it .. WinCE system on them, so very customisable.. I think they normally sell around the 250 mark .. The fascia is more shaped for the Astra, but if I remember the photos the guy posted, they dont look too bad at all in a Vectra..

  9. #9
    New Member Weaselbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If I went for a CDC40 for CD70 (with display) would the on-board computer automatically work or would it need to be enabled?

    By the way, apologies if these questions seem a bit obvious or stupid

  10. #10
    Regular Member DAVIDD88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    scottish region
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if u install the unit with its paired screen will work auto

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie Hello and some advice
    By davision in forum Introduce yourself.
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 7th May 2011, 09:54
  2. Newbie looking for some advice..
    By adz_011 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 18th March 2011, 12:42
  3. newbie here.. also advice please :)
    By raggit in forum Introduce yourself.
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th March 2010, 12:11
  4. Remap advice (so confused!)
    By emptybee in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 7th June 2009, 00:28
  5. Newbie, After Some Advice.
    By PLuKE in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 16th October 2008, 15:13

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •