User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Engine Diagnostic Light

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Thetford, Norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Engine Diagnostic Light

    Hi all

    Just a quick question is there any way of plugging in a green box without triggering the CAN-BUS in to a fault code situation as i changed my stereo on sunday which triggered a fault code and VX stung me £38 for the privilage of turning out the light even thoigh i had used a proper loom

    should also say mines a 120 sri cdti 2005

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    134 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    134 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    it shouldnt as a rule trigger any engine management lights at all UNLESS you have it set too high and it causes overfuelling to the common rail which will then lodge a complaint. Assuming the 'green box' your talking bout is a tuning box.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Thetford, Norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes its a powerklip box was just wondering if there was any special treatment you needed to give it like disconnecting the battery that was all

    Cheers


    Quote Originally Posted by plasma
    it shouldnt as a rule trigger any engine management lights at all UNLESS you have it set too high and it causes overfuelling to the common rail which will then lodge a complaint. Assuming the 'green box' your talking bout is a tuning box.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    no, no special treatment.. just make sure the key isn't in the ignition when you break into the common rail multiplug with the bridgeing loom of the box..

    unless it's too high as plamsa said, it should be straightforward

  5. #5
    Regular Member ion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    walsall
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Is it possible to connect the green box backwards like the CR1?

    When you turn the key this will trigger the fault light & will do so every time you turn the key then for a while, even when you correct it I think?

    I connected my CR1 backwards once.

  6. #6
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    134 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    134 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    To clear the code you can disconnectt your battery for half hour, you'll have to re-enter your radio code and that but its a proven way to clear the light. It worked on mine fine.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Thetford, Norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cheers for the info guys. Not worried about the radio code as mine has been changed so only have to worry about reprogramming radio stations cheers for the tip plasma its cheaper than having to pay vx £38 to reset the EML

    Cheers

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Loss of power, Engine Management Light, Spanner Light
    By Shadrack in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th April 2013, 11:22
  2. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 16th August 2012, 10:07
  3. No throttle, traction control light, engine management light
    By si260188 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th May 2010, 21:45
  4. U480 diagnostic Scanner, can engine be running when reading codes
    By wickedwillie in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th February 2010, 11:58
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th April 2009, 19:49

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •