User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sky + HD in another room?

  1. #1
    Regular Member damers2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pontefract
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Sky + HD in another room?

    What I want to know is, is this possible and if so how do I go about doing it?

    The box is only a couple of months old as I've only recently signed up but don't want to pay the additional costs of multiroom. It used to be possible on the really old boxes but they have since changed and the only output I seem to have is HDMI.

    I'm not bothered if I can't change the channel, i just want the picture upstairs in the bedroom on a night etc.

    Any help on this would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Regular Member themarbleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You can hard wire by connecting to the output 2 on the back of the box,you then need a magic eye and you can change all the channels,failing that you can go down the route of video senders but they are a lot more money. Just type magic eye in fleabay

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you can buy a hdmi splitter for about £30 works a treat

  4. #4
    Regular Member damers2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pontefract
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    cheers for the pointers chaps, my electrical knowledge is not the best plus I'm colour blind! lol

    I think the splitter option may be the best one for me

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by damers2000 View Post
    cheers for the pointers chaps, my electrical knowledge is not the best plus I'm colour blind! lol

    I think the splitter option may be the best one for me
    No, the magic eye is the best option as you can change the channel in the other room. It all works through the coax cable from the second rf output.

  6. #6
    Regular Member nibblitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mogsy007 View Post
    No, the magic eye is the best option as you can change the channel in the other room. It all works through the coax cable from the second rf output.
    But RF output is poor SD picture quality, not even as good as scart RGB.. HDMI splitter is the way to go to get HD output to another telly, be sure to buy a "1in 2out" splitter, and one that says its provides amplified outputs which helps firing the HD signal along long HDMI cables.. If you want to be able to remote control from the other room, have a look at buying something like a "Powermid" IR extender ..

    But then, if its only a little old Non-HD portable telly in the bedroom, then RF output from the sky box would be more than adequate..
    Last edited by nibblitz; 14th April 2011 at 20:44.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nibblitz View Post
    But RF output is poor SD picture quality, not even as good as scart RGB..
    You can still use a magic eye as well though.

    Long before I got Sky I already split the RF feed from the front room to a bedroom so I could watch videos in another room.

    I didn't want to use the existing coax because I still wanted the video feed going to other room, so what I did was to use bell wire and connect an RF plug on each end of it making sure I got the polarity the correct way around. The magic eye connects to RF2 on the back of the Sky box and the bell wire feeds the magic eye with the 9 volts that's required for it to work. The remote signal happily gets relayed back to the Sky box so that I can change channels from another room.

    End result is that I have both a Video/DVD and Sky RF feed going to the other room through an RF amplifier. OK, I can't operate the Video/DVD from another room, but just using bell wire means that I can change Sky channels.

    The bell wire, btw, isn't being used for an RF signal.

  8. #8
    Full Member spennny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Blantyre
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Orrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    Change to VM and i will give you a multiroom for free lol

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. room at the top ????
    By ditchp in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th April 2009, 20:27
  2. room on my drive
    By Lump in forum Detailing and Car Care Discussion
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 6th March 2009, 19:36
  3. Room for one more?
    By Albaz in forum Introduce yourself.
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 30th September 2005, 22:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •