User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Climate control dead

  1. #1
    Regular Member irmscher72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    northants
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Climate control dead

    Hi, noticed last week when i switched my car on (at night), that when all the dash lit up the climate control panel never, none of the buttons work and no temps showing up on the colour screen, no heated rear screen, nothing, i have read a few posts on here but getting a bit confused, i took it to the stealers yesterday, they spent around 2 hours looking into it but couldnt give me a answer except this ( it looks like its your climate control panel but if it isnt then its some control module at back of engine which will be more expensive, 280 quid plus 90 quid labour fitting panel, so will opt for that first) i thought they would order one in just to test and then if it was that, fair enough, but they want me to pay that first to see, i know its easy to get out cause i looked around it other day, anyway looked on flea bay and there are a few for sale, my question is are they plug and play or do they need to be tech2 in, as some say it is plug and play and others dont, please help as its doing my head in, i keep saying to Richard (kman) that i will be having my dash done and something always goes wrong, thank guys !!!!!!!!!!

  2. #2
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If that is an auto climate control (display temp in with GID or CID) i believe it needs tech2 in....

  3. #3
    Regular Member irmscher72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    northants
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes it is the auto one, dual zone, do you think i can buy anyone off flea bay then and just needs tech 2 to work, anyone on the site do it ????

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This may not help you as yours sounds deader than mine was. On occasion the panel on my car didn't light up or do anything and the bottom row of the screen where the climate control info is was blank. I took the control panel out of the dash, disconnected both wiring multiplugs, checked the pins and sockets were all clean and shiny, then refitted it and it's been fine since.

    A long shot, but it may be worth a try if it's not been tried already.

  5. #5
    Regular Member irmscher72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    northants
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What can i claen them with if they are dirty, its only a 2007 model, surely they wouldnt be dirty would they, just spoke to a guy on the phone and he thinks its just a straight swap, i hope so because that would save me hundreds ;-)

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Mine looked clean so I didn't actually clean them - I just re-seating them and that seemed to do the job for me. Looking for bent/broken pins on the climate control unit and damaged/broken wires on the multiplugs may be a good idea too.

    If the pins are dirty - or to remove doubt - clean them with electrical contact cleaner ideally, although something like WD40 will do. Just make sure it's all dry before you put it back together - and be gentle with the pins so as not to bend/snap them.

  7. #7
    Regular Member irmscher72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    northants
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    All look clean and straight thanks, just unplugged it and had a look, emailed 2 people on the bay and both think they are plug and play so think i am gonna order one and see if it works, heres hoping ;-)

  8. #8
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have replaced two, one in my gsi and one in my siggy. One needed tech two and the other did not.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irmscher72 View Post
    All look clean and straight thanks, just unplugged it and had a look, emailed 2 people on the bay and both think they are plug and play so think i am gonna order one and see if it works, heres hoping ;-)
    Worth a go seeing as it's free and quick. I take it it's still dead though.

    Good look with the eBaying and plug-and-playing. Let us know how it goes.

  10. #10
    Regular Member irmscher72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    northants
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Will do thanks for the comments, will order one and if it dont work see if they can tech 2 it in ;-))

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. climate control
    By stu_c in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13th December 2010, 18:27
  2. Climate control Help
    By SteveH in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11th January 2009, 00:23
  3. Climate Control
    By liphook in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th December 2008, 04:10
  4. Climate Control
    By shark and mel in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd November 2007, 18:33
  5. Climate Control - Yes You Can Help!!!
    By mushy2007 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th November 2007, 00:15

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •